Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-29-2005, 07:12 PM
adriansmith adriansmith is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Question Using SD2 with Peripheral Vision?

Hi,

I've been using SD 1.5 with Peripheral Vision to intiate backups automatically when I plug in my firewire drive (as described on this forum).

I'm wondering if this will still be possible in SD 2? Is there a way to have a script that can be triggered by Peripheral Vision when a drive is plugged in? I couldn't see any examples scripts (like the old "Daily Backup") in the download package...

I've not have time to look at the manual yet so please feel free to say "RTFM" if it is there - although a page number would be nice

Regards,

Adrian
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-29-2005, 08:47 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,709
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Here's what to do:

- Set up the backup the way you want, and schedule it. (Don't worry -- you won't leave it there...)
- Navigate to the Library/Application Support/SuperDuper!/Scheduled Copies folder, and copy the settings in there to Library/Application Support/SuperDuper!/Saved Settings, using the same name if you want
- Open SD! and delete the scheduled item
- Use Peripheral Vision to run the "Copy Job" application you'll find *inside* the settings packge.

That'll do it!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2006, 01:18 AM
adriansmith adriansmith is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
Here's what to do:
- Use Peripheral Vision to run the "Copy Job" application you'll find *inside* the settings packge.

That'll do it!

I don't think Peripheral Vision can't see the "Copy Job" application inside the package. I solved the problem by making an alias to "Copy Job" and putting that somewhere in the file system that Peripheral Vision can see.

Works very well now

Regards,

Adrian

PS I figured this out back when this thread was first live but I just pointed a friend to it and he couldn't figure it out so I thought I would update the thread for everyone's benefit.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-06-2006, 08:27 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,709
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
A similar technique is used in my FAQ post about the Maxtor OneTouch button... you might want to check that out.

Thanks!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.