Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > netTunes > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-02-2004, 09:18 AM
Quantumpanda Quantumpanda is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Columbus OH
Posts: 1
Unhappy Revisiting Latency

I've been using netTunes for a while now, over AirPort between my iBook and my desktop G4, and have been very happy with it. But just in the last week or so, latency has suddenly become a problem. Prior to that, there was no significant latency at all. Now, even with display quality at its lowest setting, there is a several second delay between clicking in the window and seeing a result on the screen. This delay makes actions like scrolling nearly impossible.

I can tell that the latency is not in sending data from the laptop to the desktop, because actions like pausing take effect almost immediately (though the display takes several seconds to reflect the change). Using Konfabulator's CPU Monitor, I can verify that the CPU is not even close to being maxed out, so that shouldn't be the problem either. I checked the older thread on latency here, but didn't find any additional information that seemed to be of help.

The fact that this came up very suddenly suggests that I installed something that is interfering. Are there any known software conflicts between netTunes and any other software?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-02-2004, 09:30 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,709
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I'm not aware of any software that conflicts with netTunes, but that doesn't mean there isn't any.

Clicks aren't terribly "data intensive", so the fact that a click occurs quickly may just mean that it's not enough data to notice that things aren't working well.

There are a few things I'd suggest:

- Since you're working on AirPort, try power cycling your AirPort base station (and, I'd suggest, restarting all the computers attached to it). It's possible that there's a progressive problem in the base station that's causing a problem.

- Similarly, if you've got some routers or switches involved there, power cycle them.

- If that doesn't help, it's possible that you're getting significant interference on your wireless: did you add any new phones to your house or anything like that? Try using the "automatic" setting in the AirPort Base Station admin utility to adjust the base to a clear channel.

That's at least a place to get started: let me know if it helps.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Latency.... Visitor General 3 11-24-2003 08:16 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.