Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-07-2007, 07:14 PM
saint3x saint3x is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Using Leopard and have to clone drive. Any suggestions?

Next week Apple is swapping out my 10 week old MacBook (after the failure of 2 logic boards, 1 inverter board and a superdrive!) with a new one.

The problem is that the existing error-prone MacBook runs Leopard and I need to clone its hard drive in order to install it or most of its contents onto the new machine. If I can't use SuperDuper! yet, does anyone have any suggestions. Please?

S
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-07-2007, 10:03 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,709
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I'd just use the migration assistant that'll prompt you to copy from the old mac when you start the new Mac...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-2007, 10:59 PM
saint3x saint3x is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Unfortunately I'll never have access to both computers. The new one gets handed over when they pick up the old one.

S
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-07-2007, 11:01 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,709
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, then, I'd make a full copy of the internal drive use Disk Utility's "Restore" tab or Time Machine...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-07-2007, 11:08 PM
saint3x saint3x is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Thank you. I'll try DU's 'Restore' as so far I haven't had a great experience with Time Machine.

S
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-10-2007, 08:36 AM
steveb steveb is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14
Or, when the new one arrives swop the hard drives. Only takes about 5 mins.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-10-2007, 09:10 AM
saint3x saint3x is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Nice idea, but…
I'll never have access to both machines at the same time. The old one will be picked up tomorrow and when they've checked it in they'll start the paperwork to send out the new one!

S
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.