Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-03-2010, 09:27 AM
D60Dave D60Dave is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Cloning to defragment and Time Machine

Hi All,

I bought an extra SATA drives for my MacPro and last night I set about cloning my system disk to this new disk to produce a defragmented clone using SuperDuper as described here: http://homepage.mac.com/dnanian/Supe...gmentation.pdf

According to iDefrag my original system disk had over 4000 fragmented files (demo version will tell you this) and the cloned disk had just over 100. A great improvement! (I now realise I should have created the clone after booting in safe mode, I wonder if this will reduce the figure below 100??)

Anyway, I was quite pleased with that but when I came to turn Time Machine back on (which I updated just before doing the clone) it started doing a full back up of my cloned system disk, about 86GB. Should this cloned disk not appear identical to Time Machine as the original disk? Could it be because I've named the volume differently ie original sys disk = 'Mac HD', cloned sys disk = 'Sys DiskB' ?? Does anyone know how to overcome this and get TimeMachine to see it as the same drive? Is it as simple as calling them both the same, that could get confusing though???

Regards,
Dave.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-03-2010, 09:29 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,709
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If you erased the drive, it's going to look different (and certainly renaming it would make it different, too), Dave...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2010, 10:06 AM
D60Dave D60Dave is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
- Thanks for your reply.

I haven't erased either drive. I'm talking about the new clone, if I name this "Mac HD" (the same name as the drive it's a clone of) should Time Machine think it's the same drive and only back up changes rather than the whole thing from scratch?

I'll try it tonight when I get home.

Regards,
Dave.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-2010, 10:09 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,709
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Not necessarily, no. It's hard to know for sure what TM uses to identify drives, although it's likely using a cookie on the drive that we preserve, unless you erase the drive.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-03-2010, 10:18 AM
D60Dave D60Dave is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
- thanks for your prompt reply, I'll check it out tonight and let you know what happens.

Cheers,
Dave.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.