Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-02-2007, 06:08 PM
XB70 XB70 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Angry At wits end

Dual 1.8 GHz PowerPC G5
10.4.10
3.5 GB DDR SDRAM
300 GB Striped Array (2 - 150 GB drives)

-----------------------------------------------------------

I have been using SD for about 2 years now with barely a problem. On occasion, if I trash a large amount of stuff off my G5 I will have to erase my backup FW and start over. Other than that it's been fine.

However ...

A couple of days ago everything went haywire. Two things of note occured before the problems started. I upgraded to OS 10.4.10 and I also trashed about 40GB of data off my G5. Not only would the backup not complete, but it would completely lockup my G5 with the pinwheel spinning.

I have tried:

- Erasing and reformatting my external FW
- Tried a brand new WD "My Book" 500GB FW drive
- I have pluggd it directly into the FW port (no hubs)
- Run Disk First Aid on my G5 from the OSX bootup disk (no problems)
- Repaired permissions (many times)
- Run DiskWarrior on my G5 (hardware test ok & rebuilt directory)
- Each time I have tried to backup using SD I have erased my external FW
- SD logs don't show anything during the crash time (I think they're not even being saved)
- Trashed an additional 60GB of stuff off my G5 in case it's a problem file. Nada. As the logs don't show anything I'd have no idea if it's even a problem file.

Any suggestions to try something else? I've about run out of ideas.

TIA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-2007, 07:30 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,709
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Try starting in "Safe Boot" (Shift down during startup) to see if that helps. I'd also try attaching to USB rather than FireWire.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2007, 10:04 PM
XB70 XB70 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Tried Safe Boot. No go.

I'll try the USB next. Thx.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-03-2007, 10:49 PM
TMay TMay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 118
Long shot, but did you try to download and use a fresh copy of SD?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-04-2007, 02:41 PM
XB70 XB70 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Yeah, trashed SD app and downloaded again. No go.

I think at this point I'm looking at an archive and install of Tiger. I'll only do a full HD drive erase when I upgrade to Leopard.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-04-2007, 02:43 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,709
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Have you tried opening Console and switching to the system.log, then running the copy to see if there's any diagnostic from the kernel?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.