Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-10-2013, 04:18 PM
DavidCB DavidCB is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 66
Necessary to close all applications before copying?

Usually when I make a clone with SD, I first close all applications. Does it make any difference though?

Thank you,

David
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-2013, 05:01 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, it depends. If the application doesn't have any open files, no. But if you're running VMWare, Parallels, Entourage or the like - programs with big, active files - yes.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2013, 06:32 PM
DavidCB DavidCB is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Well, it depends. If the application doesn't have any open files, no. But if you're running VMWare, Parallels, Entourage or the like - programs with big, active files - yes.
What if a virtual PC in VMWare is suspended?

David
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2013, 08:02 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's generally fine.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Machine stopped working - SuperDuper involved? adriansmith General 18 02-20-2008 03:48 PM
Necessary to close files and applications during backup? mcvaughan General 2 11-02-2007 02:40 PM
Copy Script "Copy applications, sharing non-Apple.dset" is hardcoded / inflexible porg General 1 07-11-2007 07:22 PM
Long Hang While Copying BackerUpper General 4 06-12-2006 08:26 AM
When I use a Safety Clone, LaunchBar isn't locating my Applications! dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 04-02-2004 11:33 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.