Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2005, 11:46 AM
zack zack is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 14
Bug in SuperDuper clone?

I've been trying out SuperDuper for a week now. Has given no problems. But yesterday, it gave a error msg saying out of disk space on the backup drive.

That was impossible since this is my config.

imac g5
hd 80 GB, 57GB available
mirror hd 80GB (160 total, partitioned 80/80)

As you can see I have only 23GB of data and yet a 80 gb mirror backup drive ran out of space!

The only thing that was different was I had some bit torrent running when the backup wsa taking place. I had set the option to smart update, clone.

So erased the mirrored drive and did a clone again.

Any clues?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-24-2005, 11:57 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
There seems to be an occasional bug in either Darwin or Cocoa that causes *some* open files, every once in a while, to not have an "end". That is, when we use the Cocoa calls to copy the file (written by Apple), the OS tells Cocoa that the file is gigantic, and so Cocoa copies the file with this (incorrect, very long) length.

It doesn't happen very often, but it does happen on occasion. We're trying to figure out a way to detect this OS/Cocoa Frameworks bug and work around it, but haven't found a good way yet...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2005, 01:09 PM
zack zack is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 14
Thanks Dave!
I also find that in my mirror drive there are some files which are not in the hard drive.

dev [dir]
automountd[dir]
..servers[dir]
..static[dir]
mac_kernel
Network (dir)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2005, 01:28 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Those are not copied because they're automatically recreated when you boot from the backup. Nothing to worry about.
__________________
--Dave Nanian

Last edited by dnanian; 01-24-2005 at 01:32 PM. Reason: Fixed typo. Boy, more coffee needed.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SuperDuper! as backup/restore program? Staxman General 17 06-02-2005 02:30 PM
SuperDuper! Question(s) HarpuaFSB General 11 09-07-2004 05:07 PM
Safety Clone fails to start up after shut down macWish General 4 06-23-2004 06:29 PM
PGP from a Safety Clone wavenumber General 4 06-17-2004 02:51 PM
Another review: MaMUGs looks at SuperDuper! dnanian General 0 01-26-2004 10:26 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.