Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-23-2006, 03:40 PM
chris_kalan chris_kalan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
SuperDuper freezes at 3.30GB progress

Hey there - I'm using the trial version of SuperDuper - and as far as I could tell, there were no limitations on how much I could backup with it, just that I don't get Sandbox or various other functionality. My problem is that the backup process freezes when it reaches the 5.37GB evaluated (3.30GB copied) stage. I'm backing up to a Seagate external Firewire 400 drive with more than 280GB available on it, so space is not the issue. I actually still have control over the program, but it seems like it is not doing anything. I cancelled it last time it did this, and now it is stopped in the same place once again.

HELP!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2006, 03:41 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,375
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Are you backing up to an image, Chris?

If not, it's possible it's copying a large file (you won't get "mid-copy" feedback)... do you use FileVault?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-23-2006, 03:44 PM
chris_kalan chris_kalan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
Actually, this is my first Mac and I simply set it up to back up my entire Macintosh HDD as a disk image. I don't know what FileVault is.

If I don't get "mid-copy" feedback, would I get "mid-copy" transfer rate? Because the rate is also stuck, at 8.07MB/second.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-23-2006, 03:45 PM
chris_kalan chris_kalan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
And I forgot to mention, I also right-clicked on the disk I am using to store the image, and the available capacity has not changed at all - wouldn't that at least have mid-copy feedback?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-23-2006, 03:50 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,375
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK. How is your external drive formatted, Chris? (And, no -- nothing about file copying will update mid-file-copy.)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-23-2006, 03:52 PM
chris_kalan chris_kalan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
It is formatted so that I can view the drive both from a Mac or PC - MS-DOS I think it is??
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-23-2006, 03:56 PM
chris_kalan chris_kalan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
More information I forgot to include: I tried to do the exact same backup to my internal hard drive, then realized that the drive is not nearly large enough, so I cancelled it. The thing is, however, that the backup to my internal got past 10GB and didn't freeze at all (until I stopped it myself).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-23-2006, 04:05 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,375
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Right. That's the problem -- a FAT32 drive does not support files > 4GB, so you can't use that to store an image that'll get larger than that, Chris.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-23-2006, 04:07 PM
chris_kalan chris_kalan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
Okay, so I have to reformat my external drive then everything should be hunky-dory (pardon the extremely corny use of hunky-dory)?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-23-2006, 04:17 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,375
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
First, let me suggest partitioning the drive into a "backup" and "data" partition, using Disk Utility. Make sure to use the APM partition format if you have a Power PC Mac, or (optionally) GUID for Intel.

Then, you can back up directly to the drive, which will give you a bootable backup.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-23-2006, 04:22 PM
chris_kalan chris_kalan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
I've got a pretty complete system I use for my backups (a system of folders and root menus I designed myself) which I've used on my PC. I'm just going to use this drive the same way (don't worry, the PC backup drive is a different one altogether; I'm not trying to share the disk for both systems). I just have to reformat as Mac-OS Extended (Journaled) and everything should be okay?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-23-2006, 04:28 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,375
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If that's what you'd like to do, Chris, feel free. But I suggest that you use a partition for a full, bootable backup, and then use the other partition for your system. Trust me: it's a lot more convenient that way, and works differently than a PC (because you can't just boot from a PC backup).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-23-2006, 04:31 PM
chris_kalan chris_kalan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
My setup goes like this:
2x 320GB Seagate (1 for PC, 1 for Mac)
2x 100GB LaCie Notebook Externals (1 for PC, 1 for Mac)

If I ever need to boot from the image, I'll just use the LaCie Mobile - that would serve the same purpose, right?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-23-2006, 04:33 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,375
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It would, as long as you're able to keep it conveniently up to date and you're writing directly to the drive. But, of course, additional redundancy (physical) is always good, so I'd encourage both. Again, though, your choice -- I'm only offering recommendations.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-23-2006, 04:35 PM
chris_kalan chris_kalan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
Thanks a lot for all your help - it has been very, well, helpful.

I was pleasantly surprised to not see something like "Sorry - buy the full version if you want support" as the first reply to my post, so thanks again
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A word of praise for SuperDuper! MMM General 3 06-21-2006 11:08 PM
After 10.4.4 SuperDuper Stopped Recognizing Target Drive bobcarr@mac.com General 1 01-12-2006 04:01 AM
SuperDuper Backup of AES 128 Encrypted Disk Image rwg4 General 3 11-30-2005 11:28 AM
Minor concerns regarding SuperDuper giba General 1 05-02-2005 06:06 PM
Another review: MaMUGs looks at SuperDuper! dnanian General 0 01-26-2004 10:26 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.