Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-24-2006, 01:01 AM
lonewolf2222 lonewolf2222 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Setup Leopard & Tiger to use same home folder

Hi

I would like to ask if there is a way I can use SD to "safely" do this.

- install Leopard on an external FW drive
- i have Tiger running on internal drive of my MBP
- i want to have Leopard use my Home folder located in the internal
drive.
- so I can boot up either Leopard or Tiger to do my work and have
all my documents, mails, bookmarks etc consistent between the two
OS

Can SD safetly clone feature be tweaked to not do the clone but just
have the OS'es share the home folders?

If not, is syncing home folders between Leopard and Tiger safe?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-24-2006, 08:34 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's what the Sandbox is all about, lonewolf...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-27-2006, 08:40 AM
lonewolf2222 lonewolf2222 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Dave, but if i use Sandbox feature, the Tiger OS from my internal drive will be cloned to the external FW drive. I want to run Leopard on the FW drive not Tiger. Is this possible?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-29-2006, 06:26 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You'd update the Tiger on sandbox to Leopard using its disc.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-02-2006, 02:35 AM
StevenHF StevenHF is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Sandbox with Leopard

I'm jumping into this conversation. Please pardon me. Are you saying that you first create the Sandbox. as usual, & then use Leopard disk to upgrade OS X every time the Sandbox is "SmartUpdated"?
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-02-2006, 10:56 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's right, as you would with any OS update.

Please pay close attention to the various caveats that come along with Leopard. I can't discuss them, but you should read the material you have.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading a safety clone to tiger 00afro General 12 07-09-2005 12:53 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.