Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-11-2006, 12:44 AM
macmidiguy macmidiguy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Question Testing a sparse image...

I need to use SuperDuper's "sparse" imaging feature for backups.

I will be creating a "sparse" image backup and then update that image by a schedule I've still to decide.

Is there any way to startup from that "sparse" image just to test that "sparse" image to be sure that the backup is OK?

Or do I need to use Apple'sDiskUtility to restore the drive that was backed up to find out if all is OK?

And if the drive fails to boot because the restore from the "sparse" image failed can I still use the archival install to get the drive to boot and re-do everything manually?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-11-2006, 08:19 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,343
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You can't boot from a "simulated" disk like a sparse image without restoring it to something. What I'd suggest, if you want to test it, is to restore it to something *other* than your main drive, if you can do that. That way, if you have a problem, you won't have any recovery to do.

But, yes, you can archive-and-install, assuming that your user files and applications all came across fine...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-12-2006, 03:23 PM
macmidiguy macmidiguy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks for the information.

Too bad you guys can't make the "sparse" image a virtual disk just for testing purposes. For example, TechToolPro allowed me to setup a virtual disk without first erasing the contents of any given drive in my system.

Also too bad you guys can't allow cloning to a hard drive that just has data files i.e. no system files on that hard drive. I can understand that I would not want to clone a drive to a drive that already has a system.
One of my 4 drives is used just for audio/video storage and therefore have to go with "sparse" image as a backup.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-12-2006, 03:33 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,343
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Unfortunately, it's something that would have to be handled by the OS, which doesn't have the ability to boot from something that's not a real drive (or special NetBoot drive served over the network from a netboot server). There's nothing we can really do about that at this end.

Have you considered partitioning your drive, rather than using a sparse image?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-14-2006, 02:44 PM
macmidiguy macmidiguy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Thank you for the explanation because it has cleared up a thought I had for a long time.

I've considered partitioning ( again ) albeit I've had a really bad experience when I used partioning in the good old days of PANTHER ( 10.3 ). That's why I ended up installing 4 internal drives.

So for now I'll work with the backingup to a sparse image.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-14-2006, 02:51 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,343
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No problem, but... what problem did you have with partitioning?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
not ejecting sparse image after backup rossb General 7 02-08-2006 06:20 PM
Sparse image from aborted DMG backup? Winston General 9 10-22-2005 01:28 PM
Sparse image grows beyond actual data? jamart General 9 10-08-2005 05:49 PM
Sparse image mounted over network is grayed out in backup destination list therevolution General 5 06-25-2005 08:49 PM
Sparse Disk Image track record? Phil General 3 01-05-2005 02:45 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.