Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2006, 03:57 PM
giantrobot giantrobot is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Booting from backup?

Ok, this is probably a silly fix, but I've been using SuperDuper to backup from one 250GB firewire drive to the other. Works great.

However, the firewire drive I've been booting from just died recently, and I've been trying to book from the backup, but it won't do it. I keep getting the little question mark folder icon and it won't do it, and eventually just boots from the old internal drive instead. I've tried to go and fix the permissions and ensure the "Ignore Ownership" box is unchecked, but to no avail.

I even tried just reinstalling OS X on the drive from the boot disks, but it says I can't install it on the backup drive.

Am I just doing something wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2006, 04:02 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I don't know what kind of drive it is, giantrobot, but it sounds like it's not supported for boot. (I'm assuming you've been using "Backup - all files" and either "Erase, then copy" or "Smart Update" for your backups.)

So, if you want to restore, what I'd suggest is following the alternate "Disk Utility" method in the User's Guide (basically, boot from your install DVD and run Disk Utility from the Installer menu, then use the Restore tab to restore the backup).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2006, 04:06 PM
giantrobot giantrobot is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
I don't know what kind of drive it is, giantrobot, but it sounds like it's not supported for boot. (I'm assuming you've been using "Backup - all files" and either "Erase, then copy" or "Smart Update" for your backups.)
I used "Backup - all files" initially, and then "Smart Update". The curious thing is that they're both LaCie 250GB drives, pretty much identical. The one that I used to boot off of was newer, but otherwise they're the same.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2006, 04:07 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Porsche Design models?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-17-2006, 05:52 PM
giantrobot giantrobot is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
Porsche Design models?
yes, the porsche design models. i'm guessing you know something about those models if you've already guessed that?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-17-2006, 05:56 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
We've had weird reports from some users very similar to yours. According to LaCie technical support, formatting a Porsche Design unit without journaling might help. Could it be that one of your drives is journaled, and the other is not?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-17-2006, 06:15 PM
giantrobot giantrobot is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
We've had weird reports from some users very similar to yours. According to LaCie technical support, formatting a Porsche Design unit without journaling might help. Could it be that one of your drives is journaled, and the other is not?
hmm. both drives are (were) journaled. it looks like either way i'm just going to have to restore to a new drive. at least i've got my data, thanks to you guys!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-17-2006, 06:17 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yeah, passing on the info... didn't make much sense to me, but worth a try at least. Same firmware for both drives?

In any case, you should be OK even if you can't boot...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Source HD won't boot after canceled Backup enderws General 3 03-04-2006 05:02 PM
How to verify a Scheduled Backup? tuqqer General 3 12-06-2005 07:50 PM
Request for help with an AppleScript to run two SD SmartUpdates emikysa General 2 10-13-2005 01:10 PM
(Zero-length) File caused SuperDuper to abort backup alancfrancis General 7 08-31-2005 11:42 AM
Smart Backup Error bill s General 20 02-04-2005 10:46 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.