Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-06-2005, 12:44 PM
Awphoto Awphoto is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Copying between 2 x computers

Is there any way to backup across a network (2x computers) and simply mirror the contents of one computer drive onto another computer drive with out using the sparse image file. dmg thing.

So that when I open the drive on one computer (files only) it looks the same as the drive on the other computer? I find the mounting the sparse image a bit time consuming.

Any idea's??

Thanks

Adrian
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-06-2005, 12:56 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Sorry, Adrian, no. You can't write directly to the other computer without a physical (FireWire) connection.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-06-2005, 06:54 PM
Awphoto Awphoto is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks for the reply.

I'm not looking to backup any software or my main HD just lots of image files (I'm a photographer) accross the two computers. Is this not possible with Ethernet?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-06-2005, 07:40 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It is, certainly, but not using SuperDuper! We're not focused on being a generic "copy some files" applications, but rather on making backup copies...

You might want to take a look at FolderShare at http://www.foldershare.com. It's free, and will synchronize files on multiple machines. Quite useful, and might be more along the lines of what you're trying to do here.

Then, you can use SuperDuper! to make and update your backups.

Hope that helps!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange 'Result too large' error when copying kbradnam General 4 07-17-2007 03:22 AM
Single FW Drive Use by Two Computers Piggy General 1 12-05-2005 05:45 PM
Smart update copying all files each time fabius General 15 05-29-2005 10:29 PM
TESTING: SuperDuper problems copying some data stevea General 17 05-16-2005 07:18 PM
I've told SuperDuper! to ignore a folder, but it still displays during copying. Why? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 12-24-2004 03:36 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.