Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-23-2005, 03:00 PM
yoxi yoxi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
maintaining target volume icon

Hello there

Enjoying the ease-of-use of v2, (and free upgrade) thanks.

I've mentioned this before, I think: it'd be good to have an option in the prefs to maintain the volume icon of the target volume. In these days of 'choice is god', many of us out here have our own carefully-chosen icons, themes etc. and as things stand, I have to run a pre-flight shell script to save my icon to a temp file, and then a post-flight script to restore it afterwards.

And I need a separate pre-flight script for each different target volume, unless there's a way to pass the volume name through in the call in prefs?

Any chances of adding the icon save option for saving in the individual backup prefs files?

- yoxi
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-23-2005, 03:09 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, the thing is that the icon is a file that's part of the backup, and if you restore that backup, you'd end up with the wrong icon... but, I have a solution.

Put the icon you want in a folder called "Volume Icons" in your Home. Name each icon with the name of the volume.VolumeIcon.icns -- e.g. Macintosh HD.VolumeIcon.icns.

Then, use this script as the "after copy" script. Note that you need to have the developer tools installed *or* the source of the backup needs to have a custom icon.

Let me know if that works.
Attached Files
File Type: zip set_icon.zip (302 Bytes, 439 views)
__________________
--Dave Nanian

Last edited by dnanian; 12-03-2005 at 05:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-02-2005, 05:11 PM
priller priller is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Guess the question is ...... What changed? Loosing the target icon only started in v2.0.

I set the custom volume icons with CandyBar. When SuperDuper completes it's daily Smart Update, the target volume custom icon is lost. Prior to v2, this never happened.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-02-2005, 05:13 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I can't see how that could be the case: this behavior has always been the case (and we've received complaints about it before the release of 2.0, as you can see by searching the forums).

Are you sure you've been doing the same thing this whole time?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-12-2005, 07:30 PM
Harry Cover Harry Cover is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
Put the icon you want in a folder called "Volume Icons" in your Home. Name each icon with the name of the volume.VolumeIcon.icns -- e.g. Macintosh HD.VolumeIcon.icns.

Then, use this script as the "after copy" script. Note that you need to have the developer tools installed *or* the source of the backup needs to have a custom icon.

Let me know if that works.
I have tried this and it does not work.
Maybe I have not understood where to put the "Volume Icons" folder and the "Set icon" script.
I have not the developer tools installed, but the source of my backup does have a custom icon.
Thanks to help me.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-12-2005, 07:38 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK, Harry. Where did you create the folder named "Volume Icons"? It should be in your Home folder. And did you place the icon file in there with the proper name?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-13-2005, 03:28 AM
Harry Cover Harry Cover is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 64
Thanks Dave for quick replying.

I boot from the Sandbox.
This maybe my problem explanation.

When I launch the script, the 2 first steps of the copy process are OK, but the third one called the "After successful copy" step, gets coloured in red, with the error message : "Failed to run shell script set_icon".

Is the icon folder supposed to be on the "Master" HD or on the Sandbox ?
I have tried both locations, without success.

Same question about the script ?
Il have copied it to: "/Applications/Utilities/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/set_icon", on the Sandbox.
Was I right ?

My Backup disk name is... Ahem... "Backup".
The icon Unix path and name are "/Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns".

Please forgive my poor english. I hope I made it clear enough.
We french people, here in Paris, love and use SD too.
"Merci beaucoup".

Yours.
HC
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-13-2005, 10:34 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Ah, OK. It's not a "Copy Script" -- it's a shell script.

Place set_icon in your Home folder instead, and make sure that when you look at it in Finder, its "icon" is a Unix Executable. Then, fix your "after copy" shell script choice in options.

The icon looks just about right, as long as you're logged in as "parents" when you run.

That should fix it, I hope. And thanks for taking the time to get in touch and for your english -- believe me, it's far better than my terrible french.

"De rien"
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-13-2005, 11:28 AM
Harry Cover Harry Cover is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 64
I did as you said, but it does not work.
The icon is still changed.

As I said before:
When I launch the script, the 2 first steps of the copy process are OK, but the third one called the "After successful copy" step, gets coloured in red, with the error message : "Failed to run shell script set_icon".

Devil is in details.
Thanks anyway.
HC
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-13-2005, 11:31 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Could you look into the log and see what error you get there?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-13-2005, 11:43 AM
Harry Cover Harry Cover is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 64
The end of the log:

| 04:22:12 PM | Info | Indexing enabled for volume.
| 04:22:12 PM | Info | Indexing enabled on Backup
| 04:22:12 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Running shell script set_icon
| 04:22:12 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Invoking site customization script: /Volumes/iMac G5/Users/parents/set_icon
| 04:22:12 PM | Info | Restoring icon for Backup...
| 04:22:12 PM | Error | cp: /Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns is a directory (not copied).
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-13-2005, 11:55 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry Cover
| 04:22:12 PM | Error | cp: /Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns is a directory (not copied).
OK -- so, it sounds like the real problem is that your icon isn't a good icon. Possible?

Try setting the Backup icon once by hand, then run the following in Terminal:

Code:
cp "/Volumes/Backup/.VolumeIcon.icns" "/Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns"
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-13-2005, 03:46 PM
Harry Cover Harry Cover is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
OK -- so, it sounds like the real problem is that your icon isn't a good icon. Possible?

Try setting the Backup icon once by hand, then run the following in Terminal:

Code:
cp "/Volumes/Backup/.VolumeIcon.icns" "/Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns"
And then ?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-13-2005, 04:41 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Try again!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-14-2005, 02:39 AM
Harry Cover Harry Cover is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 64
I have tried once more.
Hopeless !
Always the same error message: "Failed to run shell script set_icon" and the iccon is lost.

Confirmation:
I have pasted the following text in the terminal, without removing anything.
Was I right ?

cp "/Volumes/Backup/.VolumeIcon.icns" "/Users/parents/Volume Icons/Backup.VolumeIcon.icns"

Thanks a lot for your patient help.
I appreciate.

Yours.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot find target volume Timmy General 6 03-13-2006 02:06 PM
SD sannot find target Volume problem braeside General 7 09-02-2005 04:59 PM
Error while trying to enable permissions on target volume Hoosier_1701 General 11 07-16-2005 12:50 PM
spotlight finds files on backup but not on source volume snoopy67 General 1 07-05-2005 09:29 AM
Cannot find target volume -- Even with volume mounted! cmod General 3 06-03-2005 10:21 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.