Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-20-2004, 08:59 PM
edouard edouard is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2
Bootable Rescue Disk

I am a new user, (already) former DejaVu user, and very impressed by SuperDuper!
I love the ease of use and the neat GUI.
Is there a way to make a bootable DVD that would take the current system version and a few indispensible utilities (DiskUtility, DiskWarrior etc...)
Anyway, thanks for the great product,

Ed
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-20-2004, 09:03 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
SuperDuper! isn't designed to back up to DVDs, so there's isn't a way to do this with it. However, BootCD should be able to do so.

Note, however, that we don't guarantee that SuperDuper! will run properly when you're booted from a Read/Only volume. I know, for example, that if volinfo.database isn't set up to indicate that the volumes you want to restore have permissions on, then SuperDuper! won't be able to verify its permission status... there may be other issues as well.

So -- I'd suggest, for many reasons, that you create a bootable backup on read/write media, such as a small hard disk. It's more flexible, doesn't involve hacking, and works correctly.

Hope that helps, Ed!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-21-2004, 01:35 PM
edouard edouard is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2
Dave,
I'm sooooo impressed with the quality and promptness of your reply.
I'm just back from a major disaster so I tend to look for belt AND suspenders...
My 17" PB froze and died on me a couple of days ago.
I had a recent backup on a FW disk but I could not access my HD, whatever boot option I would use.
After going all over the net scrutinizing every mac message boards and support sites I knew of, (this is how I became awre of the indispensable SuperDuper! I finally succeeded, reformatted and succesfully restored my HD.
SInce this incident, DiskWarrior Hardware test returns the following message:
"This hard drive's built-in S.M.A.R.T. diagnostics indicate a failure or pending failure that could result in loss of data."
Still, the disk works normally, I do 2 smart updates a day on 2 FW drives. I don't know if I need to replace my hard drive (bummer) or if the SMART diagnostic has been damaged during the crash.
Before the crash, I had installed the last version of Virex that since has been removed from both MCAffee and Apple download sites and seems to have a very bad reputation all over the Net.
In your opinion, is there any way I could find out what to do, status quo or new disk
Sorry for the lengthy post,

Ed
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-21-2004, 03:47 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Happy to be able to help, Ed.

If you're receiving a SMART error indicating failure, you'd do well to pay close attention, and get that drive replaced ASAP. Do not continue to use it -- get a good backup, and replace that drive. SMART errors are returned when the controller itself receives an indicate that the drive is, indeed, failing -- so, no status quo!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When I try to copy a single directory, I end up copying the whole disk. Why? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 06-22-2004 07:59 PM
Just need to make a bootable clone of my Mac kiwioz@mac.com General 17 05-04-2004 05:19 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.