Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 11-04-2017, 05:02 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,344
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Ah. So, as I indicated in my most recent blog post, if the major file system type (e.g. APFS, HFS+) isn't the same, we just reformat the drive and retain its format.

So, that just erased, it didn't reformat. You'll have to reformat it yourself to be case insensitive (or APFS case insensitive)...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-04-2017, 05:14 PM
conejo conejo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 24
So can I do that in Disk Utility or do I need another app to do this? Looks like the next step in DU would be 'erase', the 'partition' option is greyed out. I'm assuming that means DU only 'sees' something it can partition if it's blank. And, can one partition of several be reformatted while leaving the other partitions alone, or will it need to do the entire disk and all the partitions at the same time?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-04-2017, 05:44 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,344
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You do it in Disk Utility. See the "Murtaugh's Lament" post at the blog.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-04-2017, 08:27 PM
conejo conejo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 24
ok, I tried to follow those instructions but things aren't cooperating. I erased the entire external drive but it didn't allow me the option to select GUID and then APFS. It only gave me 4 options: mac os ext journaled, then the same with case sensitive, ms-fat and exfat. That's it. I went ahead and erased everything, blowing away the existing partitions and using mac os ex journaled, thought maybe it would let me format to apfs while creating new partitions, but no joy. The partition button is still greyed out.

Am I doing something wrong? Now I'm nervous because I don't have a currently cloned backup of my laptop.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-04-2017, 08:28 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,344
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You must be. If you turn on all devices, then select the physical drive hardware above the volumes, then click Erase, your should have the options to use GUID/GPT partitioning and APFS.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 11-04-2017, 08:36 PM
conejo conejo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 24
Ok, I think I figured it out. Needed to erase at the whole device level and it's under the boot record where I can select GUID. Did that, then was able to use the context menu to convert to APFS and now I'm creating partitions. Will report back but hopefully I'm good now. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-04-2017, 08:41 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,344
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You shouldn't need to convert to APFS: you should have been able to erase as APFS...?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-04-2017, 08:59 PM
conejo conejo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 24
wouldn't let me erase as APFS, don't know why.

then creating the partitions was a pain in the ass. Now I remember why I used some other app years ago when I first created these partitions. Tried to create 3 partitions, each with unique names, 500 gig, then 2 with 250 gig. Failed the first time, some weird error message. Second time created 2 partitions, one 800 gig, one 200 gig. Erased again, started over, first try fails, second try I get what I want but it's weird. In Disk utility and in Super Duper, it sees one of the partitions as having 800 gig when it only has 250 gig. If I bring that partition up in Finder, it sees it as only having 250 gig.

Always hated Disk Utility, tonight is no exception. But I think I have workable partitions so I'm running a cloned backup of my laptop right now. Will sleep better once that's done, haha.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-04-2017, 09:03 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,344
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Me too. :-)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-04-2017, 11:24 PM
conejo conejo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 24
ok, backup completed. Too tired to boot to it to test, will do that tomorrow. But when I view that partition in Finder/Get Info, format simply says "APFS", which I assume is intrinsically case insensitive. So now if I get a new laptop in a month, I can successfully migrate my data.

thanks again for all your help, Dave. You, and your product, are a godsend, sir.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-05-2017, 01:22 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,344
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes, that’s what it would say. Good - glad it got done.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mavericks 'Invalid' Start-Up Problem Loopy C General 13 10-11-2017 10:14 PM
Scheduling problem todivefor General 3 10-26-2014 04:45 PM
How to run backup drive off of someone else's laptop? BobKrist General 3 09-11-2012 12:40 AM
Disk Utility problem after cloning macWish General 38 10-01-2005 02:08 PM
HELP! Laptop freezes at BootScreen!! DT5567 General 3 07-21-2005 02:42 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.