Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2015, 09:26 PM
fred fred is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 46
encrypting clone

Hi, I've had a look through the manual and found this answer in a search here..."if you don't format the backup drive encrypted and Smart Update to it, it's not encrypted"

But I'm still am not sure. Mainly I want to end up with a bootable clone that is also encrypted.

According to the latest manual, I'm told to have a separate cloning account to make an encrypted clone, but I don't really understand that because the entire computer is encrypted, so if I'm cloning from a different account the computer has to be encrypted to get in.

Is it possible to have a bootable clone that is encrypted, or is the above quote mean to imply that the clone volume has to somehow be encrypted after it's cloned.

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-07-2015, 12:00 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If you have an existing copy, select its volume in Finder, Control+click and choose "Encrypt". That should work fine. Future copies should be Smart Updates.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-07-2015, 12:20 AM
fred fred is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
If you have an existing copy, select its volume in Finder, Control+click and choose "Encrypt". That should work fine. Future copies should be Smart Updates.
Does that mean that SD can update while decrypting on the fly? Or do I first unlock it before smart updating? Also is this the same level of encryption as file vault? Also just to be clear, when you say 'an existing copy' do you mean an already prepared clone, that I then encrypt?

thx
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-07-2015, 08:00 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You should indeed be able to just encrypt an existing copy. Don't do it mid-copy. And when the drive is mounted, it's being encrypted/decrypted by the system, at a low level. It's the same as FV2.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-07-2015, 10:55 PM
fred fred is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 46
I have just discovered that I am unable to encrypt a bootable clone because it does not contain a recovery partition. How strange is that. I've researched this on the web and it appears to be a big technical PITA to get a recovery partition on it.

Would it be possible for SD to have an option to clone the recovery partition over to a bootable clone so that it would be possible to simply encrypt it from the Finder?

Also when cloning a FV2 hard drive does the System decrypt everything on the fly as SD calls for it?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-07-2015, 10:56 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It's actually easy to get a recovery volume on a drive. Boot from the backup, then reinstall the OS on the drive from the App Store. That'll recreate a recovery volume.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-07-2015, 11:08 PM
fred fred is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 46
You mean I reinstall the OS over the top of the clone? Sorry that I'm not getting this fully. I don't mind completely redoing the clone if there's a easier way to do this.

Last edited by fred; 05-07-2015 at 11:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-07-2015, 11:11 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes, that's what I mean. Simply reinstall the OS on top of the backup.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-08-2015, 01:44 AM
fred fred is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 46
OK thanks, that went well.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-08-2015, 11:20 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Great! Glad to hear it.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-06-2015, 01:26 AM
Timmy Timmy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 93
Wouldn't re-installing the OS onto the clone have the effect of 'down-grading' OS updates that have been applied such as Security Updates?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-06-2015, 11:35 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The OS version downloaded from the app store usually reflects the "current" version of the OS. If not, it's easy enough to run software update to reapply any patches released after the version was released.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'07 MacBook Pro clone to new '11 MacBook Pro (Clone failed) Cow General 10 03-31-2011 01:07 AM
Problem Booting From a Clone on a Firewire HD sgmorr General 8 03-12-2010 12:11 AM
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 06:36 PM
Using Disk Utility from Clone gets -9972 error (falsely?) eagseags General 6 09-08-2007 10:50 PM
Problem getting apps to run on clone volume ChetA General 3 09-06-2005 03:19 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.