Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2012, 11:13 AM
halt1969 halt1969 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Question Auto mount target on Mountain lion

On prev. OS/X versions with prev. Superduper versions I was able to let Superduper automatically mount the target (external USB) drive. This doesn't work anymore on Mountain Lion with the latest Superduper.

Is this feature broken in the most recent version of either the OS or Superduper?

I would really like the old behaviour back. The backup drive is now permanently mounted. This causes slowdowns because Spotlight is indexing the external drive (excluding it from spotlight only works temporarily) and it slows down other processes like file open dialogs because the system is waiting for the external drive to spin up etc.

Also the files show up in the spotlight results and this has the danger of accidentally modifying a backup file instead of the original.

If I unmount the external USB drive and forget to mount it the backup just fails.

I hope there is something that can be done about this problem.

Regards, Tim
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-26-2012, 11:26 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I explain this in the Shirt Pocket blog - it's due to "tightened security" in Mountain Lion. We're working on a fix.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-27-2012, 04:36 PM
halt1969 halt1969 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Ah, the blog... I knew I had read something about mounting but it was before I had installed 10.8 so I didn't remember where to look for it when I was getting the symptoms.

It must be hard work when Apple pulls the rug from under your app every time they have a new version.

I hope you'll get this fixed.

Thanks for the 7 years of awesomeness I've been getting from your hard work thus far. You have saved my bacon once after a lightning strike (literally) killed my whole computer.

Regards, Tim

Last edited by halt1969; 02-09-2013 at 07:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2013, 07:30 AM
halt1969 halt1969 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
I explain this in the Shirt Pocket blog - it's due to "tightened security" in Mountain Lion. We're working on a fix.
Any news on this auto mounting fix?

The App Store App is behaving very badly when I leave my mirror mounted. It is even updating applications on the mirrors and the result is that my dock icons start apps from the mirror without me even knowing. It also leads to update problems and crashes in the App Store App and invalid badge numbers (updates count).

Besides this, leaving the mirrors mounted also causes problems for spotlight indexing. I can't trust Spotlight to find the correct file because it also finds copies of the file on the mirror. And spotlight is continuously indexing my external drive (mirror). Adding the mirrors to Spotlights 'Privacy' list doesn't help either because after the mirror is rewritten this setting is reversed again.

This is obviously all Apples fault but the automatic mounting and un-mouting of my Superduper mirrors would prevent all the problems like it did before Mountain Lion.

I don't want to pressure you :-) but I would be really glad if the old functionality was restored.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-09-2013, 09:22 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
We're still working on it. Sorry for the time it's taking.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-28-2013, 06:05 PM
Jeff48 Jeff48 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Question Mounting external drives...

I'd like to put my $0.02 in here.

Since SD is not currently auto-mounting the volume (I too want to keep it dismounted when not in active use by SD so as to keep its contents inviolate) I thought I'd get "cute" and use the "Run Shell script before copy starts" option using this script:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
diskutil mount "SG SuperDuper! Backup"
The script runs fine when run by itself, but SD does not seem to run it until after its decided that its target volume is not available, causing an error.

Is there any way to get this capability back in one way or another?

MANY thanks for a GREAT product!!

Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-28-2013, 06:23 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Even if we called this before, it wouldn't work. The thing that's preventing us from mounting would prevent you from doing it as well.

But, patience, Grasshopper. As I explain in the blog post, this hidden feature is returning soon.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
automatically, mount, unmount


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will SuperDuper work with Mac OS 10.8, Mountain Lion? sdak General 25 09-15-2013 07:25 PM
Auto mount external drive volume? Allar General 1 02-15-2008 09:56 AM
Leopard auto mount test case desh General 7 12-15-2007 03:56 PM
Auto mount / unmount FW volumes? philsho General 4 03-15-2007 09:47 AM
Network drive won't auto mount Shamyl Zakariya General 7 06-05-2006 05:07 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.