Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-28-2010, 08:04 PM
Pendragon Pendragon is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 39
Updating a new iMac

I'll soon be purchasing a new iMac and am uncertain whether I should use Migration Assistant, or merely use a current & verified SD! backup.

Are there pros & cons with each method?
__________________
Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities. ~Voltaire
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-28-2010, 08:05 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
See Help > Frequently Asked Questions: one of the topics there is a discussion...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-29-2010, 07:54 AM
Pendragon Pendragon is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 39
Thumbs up

Thankful (and embarrassed) am I.

As always, your time, counsel, and support are most appreciated!
__________________
Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities. ~Voltaire
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-2010, 06:55 PM
prouss prouss is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 18
Thanks, this saved me some time and embarrassment too. The one point I would add to the FAQ is that you can follow the steps even after you've logged in to your new Mac for the first time, i.e. not only at the very first screen message which limits your transfer connections to Firewire and/or assumes your old machine is working.

So in my case, with my old Mac dead and no FW cable that would connect my external drive (with its SD backup) to the new Mac, I was able to create a temporary account, then use Migration Assistant to transfer everything over a USB cable.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-04-2010, 08:00 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
While you can, it's often nit a good idea because it might not create the users in a compatible way.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-05-2010, 04:41 PM
prouss prouss is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
While you can, it's often nit a good idea because it might not create the users in a compatible way.
Oh, OK, I didn't have much choice this time since the old Mac was dead but I'll remember next time (hopefully not too soon!). It seems to have worked out OK, though, with everything restored - thanks to SD!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
General setup using PPC PowerBook, Intel iMac and ext. FW drive (long...) Jo* General 2 07-05-2008 04:01 PM
Super Duper hanging user8333 General 7 09-14-2006 12:46 AM
New iMac - in with my Powerbook clone - procedure? homesick General 7 01-27-2006 09:04 AM
Upgrade from iMac to Quad G5 Piggy General 5 01-05-2006 04:14 PM
Cloning iMac to Powerbook GoOnSafari General 3 05-06-2005 10:40 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.