Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2010, 08:38 PM
hoeppner hoeppner is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Power Surge Upset SuperDuper!

Today there was a power surge while I was at the computer. The iMac of course shut down. I re-booted without any problems. Immediately discovered that many of my settings in various programs were altered or set at default. (I have a surge protector!!??) So I checked many of my programs and discovered that SuperDuper! has grayed-out my backup disc when I open SD. The backup disc is still on my desktop and in the finder and it opens nicely when I double click on it - shows all the normal files and data. I can even boot from it.

But I CAN'T RE-PROGRAM SD TO BACKUP TO THE BACKUP DISC! It is grayed-out when I open SD. Someone please help me. Thanks.

I did a screen capture of the SD window to show you what it looks like, but I can't seem to attach it to this email. It may work but I think it only transferred the name of the file and not the contents.

SuperDuper! No LaCie Disk

David
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2010, 08:42 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,357
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Power everything off, David, including the backup drive. Wait a few minutes, power back up again and try again. Make sure that you're not running from the backup disk when you try to back up (check "About This Mac" for the current startup disk, not the position on the desktop).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-31-2010, 09:02 PM
hoeppner hoeppner is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Power Surge Upset SuperDuper!

Thanks, Dave. That bit of info about which drive was running the program did it. I opened "About this Mac" and it was the backup disc running. I have no idea how that happened - but it did. I was able to reboot using the MacHD and then the backup disc was again visible in SD. It is backing up the system as we speak.

Thank you very much for your help.

David
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Failed to enable ownership on SuperDuper BackUp Anne West General 1 02-03-2010 02:38 PM
Superduper! superb robustness!! teknomage General 5 12-06-2009 11:03 AM
Superduper fails after upgrade to Snow Leopard josephc General 2 09-12-2009 11:18 PM
Needed: Time Machine and SuperDuper guidance kapalama General 7 08-13-2009 08:55 AM
A word of praise for SuperDuper! MMM General 3 06-21-2006 11:08 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.