Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2009, 10:36 PM
oberman oberman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Multiple external drives + prevent sleep

Hi,

I'm a long time user, but with a new use case. Previously, I had a single external drive for backups (for quick bootable recovery) + a network based offsite backup (if the house burns down). But, I now have enough data that any restore will be painful, but a network based one is effectively impossible. So, my new strategy is two drives. I'll do nightly backups to the one at home, and once a week I'll swap it and take the other one to work.

My initial backups are running now, so I haven't had time to play with the interface. But, my concern is that the scheduled backups want a specific source & destination drive. Does that mean I'll have to schedule 2 nightly backups (one for each drive), knowing that one will always fail?

In addition, I have a new iMac. My old one had such problems with power management I gave up and let it run 24x7 (which worked out great for backups). The new machine seems ok with sleep/wake, so I want to leave power management on. Obviously, I'll have to schedule a wake up before the nightly backup. My question is: will SuperDuper prevent it from going to sleep? If not, I'll have to increase the default "wait before sleep" time to ensure a complete backup runs, which I don't want to do.

Thanks,
will
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2009, 10:40 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,357
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If you write in to support, I'll provide you with some steps to alleviate the dual-drive hassle.

SuperDuper! will prevent your Mac from sleeping while it's running.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-09-2009, 08:55 AM
rlesperance rlesperance is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 40
Hi Dave,

What does actually SD do to prevent sleeping ? I thought that like this utility called «Caffeine» the computer's idletime was reseted to 0, thus preventing the computer to go to sleep until the specified idletime is reached. I checked and SD does not seem to reset the idletime.

I am wrinting a script to prevent my computer of going to sleep when specific activities are running on all logged in user. I am curious to understand how SD does actually prevent the computer from going to sleep.

Could you explain how SD does that ? Thanks in advance.



Robert
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-09-2009, 09:59 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,357
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
We respond to the power notifications the system sends and tell it that we're still active and working. That prevents 'voluntary' sleep but not 'forced' sleep.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-2009, 10:10 AM
rlesperance rlesperance is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 40
Can I have access to the script that actually monitors this activity with the system ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-09-2009, 10:11 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,357
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It's not a script. It's Cocoa code.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-09-2009, 10:17 AM
rlesperance rlesperance is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 40
Is there something in that code that I can use in AppleScript by invoking shell commands ? I am looking for a more efficient way to monitor the activity of defined process being at the «root» or «user» level ...

But I also have to say that I am not a professional scripter/programer ...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-09-2009, 10:23 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,357
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Not really, no, sorry. There may be a way to do this kind of thing in AppleScript - I'm just not aware of what it might be.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-09-2009, 10:36 AM
rlesperance rlesperance is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 40
I saw that you have files with very extensive and complex AppleScript. I picked up a few line of code to get SD's status.

The cocoa code you are talking about is not the same thing ?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-09-2009, 10:38 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,357
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, not at all. It's written in Objective-C.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Drives, Multiple Schedules Nick General 6 11-11-2009 04:44 PM
Swapping Multiple Off-Site External Drives DebNCgal General 4 07-17-2009 05:39 PM
How would I manage multiple external hard drives? Bryanmc General 1 03-06-2008 07:35 PM
Backup noobie, multiple external drives, hand-holding? cococello General 1 11-26-2007 02:18 PM
How to avoid FW external hard drives that don't boot! and other thoughts drbonbi General 4 03-22-2006 12:51 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.