Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2009, 06:04 PM
backerupper3160 backerupper3160 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 16
Thumbs down *Not* make copy bootable?

Is there a way to make the SD copy *not* bootable? (I want to try it this way because the clone was accessing stuff like Dropbox when I would boot up from it, I didn't want it to copy over a file with an older version accidentally; I created a separate partition on the same drive with DiskWarrior for when I need to boot from it for diagnostic/repair reasons.)

I thought this used to be an option years ago, but I didn't see that as a choice on the most current version (for SL). Also it makes it a tiny bit faster starting up when there's only one "alternate" drive to the main one.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2009, 06:45 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,345
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, you can certainly partition the drive in a way that makes it not bootable, but otherwise, no. Startup is not faster when you have a drive attached that's not bootable vs. a bootable drive.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-11-2009, 06:51 PM
backerupper3160 backerupper3160 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 16
I meant that startup is faster because you don't have to choose between as many (startup) options, either on the splash screen or if choosing in the System Preferences.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-11-2009, 07:10 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,345
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, no: if you're starting up normally, you're given no choices - it just automatically uses the drive you've selected.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-11-2009, 07:18 PM
backerupper3160 backerupper3160 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 16
Yeah I know that I just meant it goes a tiny bit faster when there are fewer choices in the system preferences before you reboot if that's how you're doing it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-11-2009, 07:20 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,345
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I guess I don't quite understand why you'd go into System Preferences to reboot unless you were trying to start up from some drive other than the current startup volume.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-11-2009, 07:25 PM
backerupper3160 backerupper3160 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 16
I do it that way because I can't currently change the startup sequence because I'm using a third-party (MS) keyboard. (At least that's the generic explanation I've gotten, with no workaround currently possible.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bootable


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Booting from backup guruuno General 27 10-17-2009 12:53 AM
'Make volume bootable' - how to disable? iKersh General 1 02-21-2008 11:56 PM
cant make bootable copy after a time machine restore palex9 General 2 01-29-2008 07:59 PM
Make NOT bootable after copy Roman505 General 2 11-13-2007 11:05 PM
Error: No space left on device tradervic General 11 06-29-2005 05:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.