Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-09-2009, 01:18 PM
scottaw scottaw is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Scheduled backups not running since SL upgrade

Hello, has anyone had any issues with scheduled backups not running anymore since upgrading to snow leopard?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-09-2009, 02:20 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Did you delete and recreate your schedules?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-10-2009, 03:44 PM
scottaw scottaw is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Did you delete and recreate your schedules?
No, but I did edit them, thinking that this would do the same. Let me delete and recreate them and see what happens.

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-13-2009, 08:27 AM
prairiedream prairiedream is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
I am having a problem with my backups not running as scheduled after SL also. I have 5 backups. I did delete them all, and made sure that they say "do nothing" as their option, except for the last one, which says "sleep computer."

I have the 5 backups set 1 minute apart, to run at 11:00, 11:01, 11:02, etc. This is the weird part: backups 1, 4 and 5 run as scheduled, then the computer sleeps. It doesn't run backup 2 and 3 until I wake the computer in the morning.

I have deleted and re-instated these backups several times now, and it still seems to be doing it. I'm being very careful to say only "sleep computer" on the last backup.

??
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-13-2009, 10:29 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The order backups are run in is not guaranteed past the first one - the others are added to the queue, and run in an undefined sequence.

I'd turn off the "sleep" option and just allow your Mac to sleep naturally...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-13-2009, 01:15 PM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
The order backups are run in is not guaranteed past the first one - the others are added to the queue, and run in an undefined sequence.
Hmm, I wasn't aware of that; is there a "technical" reason for it? Surely SD! can know the time a task is added to its queue so it's surprising not to predictably behave like a FIFO.

Any I've scheduled where some will be queued have always run in their scheduled order, including four currently one minute apart.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-13-2009, 01:32 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, it's been like this since the start. It's been logged as a bug for quite a while, but it's not high priority enough to have bubbled up yet.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-13-2009, 01:58 PM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
Glad to know it's considered a bug.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-13-2009, 02:14 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It is -- although from a user perspective it's undefined behavior more than anything else. It's just not behaving as you'd assume it would, and that's why I consider it a bug -- violates the "principle of least astonishment".
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-19-2009, 05:07 AM
scottaw scottaw is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Dave, just as a follow up - one of the backups suddenly started working (I don't know why) but I deleted both, recreated them, and they both seem to be working fine now.

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
backup, scheduled, snow leopard, upgrade


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saving backups? Necessary for scheduled backps? gcoghill General 2 12-10-2007 12:43 AM
Scheduled Backups Don't Run Drdul General 3 08-07-2007 07:45 AM
SD: How does SuperDuper handle skipped/pinched off scheduled backups? samson General 4 04-18-2007 11:13 AM
Feature request: "Run scheduled backups NOW" option ChicagoLarry General 1 09-11-2006 01:29 PM
scheduled backups are not running katachi General 3 06-21-2006 01:53 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.