Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-28-2009, 02:32 PM
tuni tuni is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 111
SD update - congrats but::: Eject????

Dave,
Installed this morning as always I am so pleasantly impressed and grateful for you who work and develop SD. I have never seen such timely response and such customer support with any of the myriad of programs I use now, or used to use on my PC.

I did however find that when I selected my options after dl & installing, when I did the Smart copy all files etc.....and I selected "eject" the SD clone backup it did NOT eject. The icon remained on my desktop along with the Sandbox icon. I use a Lacie 500GB FW Drive.

Shouldn't the desktop icon disappear as a result of the "eject" option or is there a logic that I'm missing? I did do a manual eject for both the SD backup and Sandbox and they both were ejected. Then I turned off the external drive. I was thinking, however, that selecting "eject" after copy would eject the primary SD backup. Am I wrong here???? Or what shouldhave happened?
thx
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-28-2009, 02:36 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,344
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It ejects on quit. Did you quit?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-28-2009, 03:34 PM
tuni tuni is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 111
Dave,

The options were: (IIRC) Quit/Reboot/Eject/etc....are you saying that I should have checked (after Smart Copy all files)"Quit" and also "Eject"???? Can you check 2 options?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-28-2009, 03:40 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,344
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, it'll eject when you quit SuperDuper. Remember, on a schedule, SD! always quits when it's done (if it wasn't running when the schedule started).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-28-2009, 03:54 PM
tuni tuni is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 111
Dave,
I don't run SD on a schedule prefer to run it manually. so again, you're saying (I think?) to select "Quit SuperDuper" and then it will eject, right. I have seen this in the past on previous versions.

I mistakenly thought (after I did the update and ran SD today) that it would just eject itself w/o me selecting "quit" -

So that's what I did wrong.... ?????
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-28-2009, 04:08 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,344
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Previous versions didn't support eject-on-quit, though, so you probably didn't see it before. But that's how it works (because, if you have a series of drives set to back up, you don't want one to eject a volume before the other schedules have had a chance to do their thing).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-28-2009, 04:13 PM
tuni tuni is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 111
thanks, Dave - you're right it was a new option I hadn't seen before so I selected it. I'll continue to use the "quit" now as an option.....I'm so easily confused <LOL>

many thanks again,
tuni
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backup problem after recent VirusBarrier X5 update grmlaw General 3 07-21-2008 10:27 PM
Spotlight Privacy tab refuses to recognize SuperDuper Smart Update -- 100% repeatable RFMoya General 4 09-22-2007 02:46 PM
Smart Update Question gbjerry General 1 06-24-2006 08:43 AM
OSX Update and firewire Khuzud General 1 02-27-2006 12:50 AM
How do I update an image? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 06-12-2004 11:05 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.