Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-2009, 05:02 PM
lokki lokki is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 9
Using SD for beta testing

I am trying out SD as a way to help me out during beta testing software, with the idea being that I could have a working copy and a 'clean' backup to go to without the beta apps.

What is the best way to use SD for testing other applications? Should I use the Sandbox - shared users and apps selection (which seems to defeat the purpose), or just the Sandbox with shared users? Will the 2nd option allow me to install applications independently on each 'drive'? And if this is the right way to go, does that mean I have to boot into the sandbox, or can I use applications from there without affecting my main boot drive? In this case, I would presume you could avoid rebooting, and just launch the apps from the sandbox, effectively behaving like you have two installs.

The reason I ask is that I sometimes give live web demos and don't want to accidentally launch the beta version of some production application. I've also considered creating a separate boot partition so I have a completely clean environment, but that has its own challenges (most of which have to do with me being somewhat lazy).

Any insight would be very much appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-09-2009, 07:55 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, in general, Sandbox - Shared Users provides the most isolation. But remember that things in your Home folder are going to get changed. So if there's data stored there (etc), and that shouldn't be touched, it's not something that you should do.

But what you can do is share your users and then create a guest user, and install/use that user... but you always have to boot into the Sandbox to be isolated.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2009, 09:05 PM
lokki lokki is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 9
So the preferred method in this case, just I'm clear, would be to do my testing under a guest (tester) account booted into the Sandbox...

Should I create the tester account before the Sandbox/Shared Users? If so, what exactly gets copied to the Sandbox?

Sorry for being obtuse
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-09-2009, 10:55 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If you want to ensure that your user account data isn't modified, yes. Don't have to create the test account - the point is that it'll be only on the sandbox if you create it after you boot to the sandbox.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-24-2009, 11:25 PM
lokki lokki is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 9
Sorry I've not followed up... I'm going to try setting this up in a day or so, and will report back. I know it's annoying when people do 'drive-by' posting and just disappear after getting a question answered

Thanks - I'll let you know how it goes.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-25-2009, 12:19 AM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by lokki View Post
I know it's annoying when people do 'drive-by' posting and just disappear after getting a question answered
More annoying (to me) are the drive-by posters asking questions that make it apparent (or seemingly so) they haven't done any searching for answers first. You know where they are on the self-help version of the Tech Support Cheat Sheet.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-25-2009, 11:27 AM
lokki lokki is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 9
***deleted for courtesy***


Last edited by lokki; 08-25-2009 at 12:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-25-2009, 11:34 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Guys, let's not go down this road at all, OK? This isn't the kind of thing I want argued about on my forums, and there's little point going there. So, don't. Thanks.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-25-2009, 12:12 PM
lokki lokki is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 9
No offense intended
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-25-2009, 12:24 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Totally understood, lokki. I just don't want to have my forums devolve into a finger-pointing exercise, argument over protocol, complaining about non-searching, etc.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-25-2009, 01:39 PM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
Since I missed lokki's deleted reply I'll just mention that my initial response was intended to humorously relate our two forum annoyances, not to personally argue with or attack anyone. If there's anything more to discuss we can do it privately rather than risk public misunderstandings and subsequent devolution. Sorry for any disruption.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-25-2009, 04:42 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I know, and appreciate it: just want to make sure we don't even start heading that way. The forums are a pleasant place because all of you guys are polite, patient and helpful -- let's stay that way!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-25-2009, 06:17 PM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
Quote:
I don't want to have my forums devolve
And with over 70 times as many posts as the second place poster (which I noticed still happens to be me ) these definitely are your forums.

Now, back to lokki's topic
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-30-2009, 02:21 PM
lokki lokki is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 9
Ok - I'm about to give this a shot with the following settings:

Copy MacHD to Tester (an existing partition)

Sandbox - Shared users
Smart Update
Copy ACLs

On Complete, Boot from Tester

At this point, I will install the prerelease package with Tester launched.

Before I get going, I have a question about seeing Tester... From HacHD, I can see all the applications installed on Tester, and indeed launch them (obviously under the running environment). Is there any way to utilize this as a virtual environment, sort of like running Parallels for Win packages?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-30-2009, 02:25 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, it's not a virtual environment.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Testing Apps on MBP vukodlak75 General 1 01-30-2009 01:20 PM
Thanks for the Thorough Testing geekboy2000 General 1 12-05-2007 03:02 PM
Multiple Images for Testing jblazic General 3 10-03-2007 06:40 PM
Testing SD!... Slow over network? simon General 7 03-16-2006 03:31 PM
TESTING: SuperDuper problems copying some data stevea General 17 05-16-2005 07:18 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.