Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-23-2004, 08:02 AM
macWish macWish is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 75
Safety Clone fails to start up after shut down

The Safety Clone I created with SuperDuper works fine in all respects except:

I shut down my computer every night. When I startup the next morning, occasionally my Mac boots from the hard drive rather than from the Safety Clone which is located on a partition on my external LaCie D2 400 Firewire drive. This does not happen every time I startup after a shut down. Once the startup from hard drive is completed, I have to restart in order to start from the Safety Clone. It always boots from Safety Clone rather than hard drive on restarts. I have the Safety Clone selected as startup disk on the Startup Disk Preference Pane.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-23-2004, 09:02 AM
macWish macWish is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 75
Ps

Should have included the following:

G4 iMac (100 GHz), OS X 10.3.4, 512 MB RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-23-2004, 09:03 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
An interesting problem, macWish. I'm guessing that your d2 doesn't spin up quite fast enough for your boot sequence sometimes. If the drive doesn't get recognized reasonably quickly, the volume won't be seen during the boot sequence, and thus won't be booted from. The Mac will then revert to the next-most-likely boot target, in this case the internal drive.

To resolve this, you might be able to do two things:

• Turn on the drive (or power-cycle it) and wait a bit longer before starting your Mac.
• Hold down Option during the boot sequence, wait for the external drive to appear, and then explicitly select it

That's all I can think of, at the moment -- sound reasonable?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-23-2004, 01:29 PM
macWish macWish is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 75
Sounds very reasonable since the Safety Clone boots fine with Restarts, at which time Firewire Drive is up and running.

I will use the option key method.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-23-2004, 06:29 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You're welcome -- let me know if you have any other problems or questions!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PGP from a Safety Clone wavenumber General 4 06-17-2004 02:51 PM
Installations Pete_Bull General 7 04-14-2004 06:12 PM
unclear about some usage issues camner General 7 04-02-2004 10:57 PM
When I use a Safety Clone, LaunchBar isn't locating my Applications! dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 04-02-2004 12:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.