Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2009, 05:43 PM
sameditor sameditor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Question Confusing Boot Problem

Hi,

If anyone can help I'd really appreciate it.

I have made a full clone of my Macbook Pro's internal HD. I'm running OS X 10.5.7. The clone drive is a Lacie Rugged 500gb external drive. It supports firewire 800 which is what I'm using. It's been formatted in Mac OS Extended (Journaled).

When I first ran SD it made the clone no problem, I did "back up all files" and requested it restart from the clone, which it did. Superduper! It works.
Since then I've tried to boot from it again but to no avail. I've tried holding down the option key on start up but it just boots into my Mac HD and when I've tried to select it from startup disk in system preferences it just won't show up

Hope that's clear.

Thanks
Sam
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-16-2009, 07:30 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,343
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Holding down Option at power on doesn't give you the startup drive picker? It should... perhaps you're not holding it down enough?

If it doesn't show up in the Startup Disk Preference Pane it's very likely mispartitioned. It should be GUID - see the FAQ.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-2009, 03:11 AM
sameditor sameditor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Smile Problem solved

Thanks for your help. I reformatted GUID and it showed up in start up disk pane. Still couldn't get it to appear using the Option key though. I found out that on UK systems you hold ALT and not Option to get to the boot selection screen.

Cheers

Sam
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-18-2009, 08:32 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,343
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's interesting: on my keyboard Alt and Option are the same key (two labels).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-25-2009, 02:52 PM
Gingau Gingau is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Shows as startup, won't boot

I can choose the SuperDuper clone as a startup disc in Sys Pref or in the Startup Mngr, but the computer still boots up from the the original volume.
(Startup Mngr does pay attention when I choose the TechTool edrive)

I'm running 10.4.11 on a 2.8GHz Intel
Iomega has always been a reliable Mac Hard drive for me.
I don't know what the chip set is.

DriveGenius2 confirms the Iomega HDD is in perfect condition
Renaming the clone the same as the original volume made no difference.


Name : Iomega500
Type : Volume

Disk Identifier : disk1s2
Mount Point : /Volumes/Iomega500
File System : Mac OS Extended (Journaled)
Connection Bus : FireWire
Partition Type : Apple_HFS
Device Tree : /PCI0/RP04@1C,3/FRWR@0/node@303c0540128d02/sbp-2@4008/@0:2
Writable : Yes

Capacity : 465.4 GB (499,763,888,128 Bytes)
Free Space : 215.0 GB (230,897,733,632 Bytes)
Used : 250.4 GB (268,866,154,496 Bytes)
Number of Files : 392,562
Number of Folders : 86,907
Owners Enabled : Yes
Can Turn Owners Off : Yes
Can Repair Permissions : Yes
Can Be Verified : Yes
Can Be Repaired : Yes
Can Be Formatted : Yes
Bootable : Yes
Supports Journaling : Yes
Journaled : Yes
S.M.A.R.T. Status : Not Supported
Disk Number : 1
Partition Number : 2

Last edited by Gingau; 05-25-2009 at 03:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-25-2009, 04:16 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,343
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The drive should be partitioned as "GUID", Gingau, not Apple Partition Map... that may make a difference here.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-25-2009, 04:45 PM
Gingau Gingau is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Guid

Dave

You mentioned in this post that this was in a FAQ, but I could not find which one.

OK, Now I see that in Disk Utility under partion/options when choosing the drive rather than the volume.

I had read through the SD user's guide and this is not listed in "Prepare for your backup"

Thanks. I will try the process again.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-25-2009, 04:47 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,343
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
True: GUID wasn't an option when the current version of the User's Guide was written. That's why I put it in the FAQ... a bit of a runaround, I know.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-26-2009, 09:12 PM
Gingau Gingau is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Success. Thanks for your personal input.
The Clone is working perfectly.

Could you clarify which FAQ the GUID requirement is mentioned for future reference?
Muchly Appreciated
Gingau
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-26-2009, 11:41 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,343
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes, it's in the "I can't boot from my drive" FAQ. (It's also in the Time Machine FAQ, as I recall, and is likely elsewhere, too.)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, lacie, problem, rugged


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boot problem on FW drive cyrca General 7 08-03-2008 10:18 AM
Dual Boot Mirror Problem? BigMac General 3 07-15-2008 08:18 AM
Another "can't boot from cloned drive" problem. robgo General 8 02-09-2008 09:58 PM
First Boot Experience, Seagate 400GB PushButton FW Works! greenjeens General 5 05-25-2006 08:19 AM
PROBLEM: Backup copy won't boot computer stevea General 25 05-16-2005 02:00 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.