Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2009, 02:55 PM
RobShaver RobShaver is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Can I Clone the Boot Disk to a Larger Disk?

I've got a number of factors which complicate what I want to do so I'm going to layout the whole scenario for you.

BACKGROUND
I bought a used Intel Mac Pro w/ four internal 750MB hard drives. The first disk is the boot disk. The other three disks are in a software raid-00 array. The boot disk also has a 13GB Parallels partition with Windows Vista.

REPLACE BOOT DISK WITH 1TB DRIVE
So what I want to do is clone my boot disk to a bare 1TB SATA drive I have and plug it into the first disk position in the computer. The complexity is that I don't want to mess with the other three drives for fear I'll loose all my data because they are in a raid-0 array.

What's the best solution to this? Is the Parallels partition going to screw things up? Can I backup that partition to a separate drive and then restore it later if I want?

Somebody gave me a USB to SATA converter. Can I clone the boot drive using that and then expect it to work when plugged into the SATA slot in the computer?

Thanks,

Rob:-]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2009, 02:59 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Drop me an email, Rob. Although I've posted it here before, I'll provide you with some instructions that should help.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clone boot disk


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 06:36 PM
SD 2.5 - Clone disk hangs on boot ashkit General 12 02-11-2008 10:41 AM
Using Disk Utility from Clone gets -9972 error (falsely?) eagseags General 6 09-08-2007 10:50 PM
Can't boot from clone via Startup Disk control panel, but can from "option key" eagseags General 1 11-03-2006 11:03 PM
Disk Clone not showing up in Boot Startup list richardl General 7 03-11-2006 07:28 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.