Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2008, 10:19 AM
littleMac littleMac is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Time Machine thinks my startup disk clone needs to be backed up from scratch.

Hi guys. I just completed replacing the internal drive of my MacBook with a bigger drive. I used SuperDuper 2.5 (v84) to make a clone of my old drive. Worked great.

Time Machine seem to accept that this new drive is the same as the old one. It tells me that is has been backed up before and will let me browse for old files in time. However, when I go to make a new backup, it wants to copy the entire drive, as if ever file has been changed.

Where did I go wrong? I'm running OS X 10.5.5.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2008, 10:23 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,345
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You didn't go wrong: Time Machine sees the drive for what it is -- a new drive. It doesn't 'merge' backups of the same data.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-14-2008, 05:35 AM
littleMac littleMac is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks for your quick reply!

Does Time Machine really think it's a new drive? It tells me that in fact it has been backed up before. I can browse the old backups and restore files. I guess I don't understand why it would act as if it was the same drive but conclude that all the file were different.

In any case, if this is the normal behavior for Time Machine, doesn't this make using SuperDuper clones with Time Machine kind of impractical? I'm surprised I haven't heard more about this.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-14-2008, 08:42 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,345
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Not really, no: Time Machine does this for its own 'restores' as well.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-15-2008, 05:43 AM
littleMac littleMac is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Ah! I was wondering if that happened. Thanks for the info.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
time machine


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How does SD manage out of diskspace on a Time Machine disk halt1969 General 14 09-04-2009 08:40 PM
Has anyone allowed Time Machine to run from a Clone or Sandbox? rwross General 0 03-27-2008 02:48 PM
Restoring boot drive from a clone and subsequent Time Machine backup Hoosier_1701 General 1 03-06-2008 02:42 PM
Feature request - turn off Time Machine on clone rmf General 7 11-29-2007 06:52 PM
Disk Clone not showing up in Boot Startup list richardl General 7 03-11-2006 07:28 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.