Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-18-2008, 08:04 AM
tommasoh tommasoh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 11
Drive disconnected, Connection is invalid

Hello,

This more an annoyance than a functional problem, but here we go.
Whenever I leave the backup drive disconnected and SD tries to start the scheduled job on that drive, it pops out with an UNDISMISSABLE message:

"connection is invalid" with an applescript icon next to it and an OK button that is not clikable even if the dialog itself seems to have the ability to give or take focus when clicked on.

The only way to get rid of it is to logout or restart, not even quitting SD.

Any solutions, workarounds?

Ciao,
T
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-18-2008, 10:02 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,339
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You can certainly quit the "Copy Job" application with Activity monitor (select it, click "Quit") -- but, you shouldn't get this kind of error routinely with a drive not connected. Are you quitting SD! "by hand" immediately after the launch of SD?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-18-2008, 02:36 PM
tommasoh tommasoh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 11
Hey Dave, thanks for you quick reply.

I figured that I could quit the copy job.app from act mon a few minuted after writing the first post. Still the "problem" remains.
Basically what happens is: I have SD scheduled to backup at 4 in the morning and sometimes I just forget to plug the external drive for the backup. Then I on the screen in the morning I find SD main interface and the Copy job.app error message. I can normally close SD window, but the Copy job message stays there and it's OK button is clickable but has no effect in dismissing the dialog.
Then yes, I can quit through Act Mon, but it would be nice in the first place if there was an option for it to fail silently or a solution to this minor problem.

Thank you,
T
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-18-2008, 04:39 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,339
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That was the question: whether you were quitting SD! in the 'middle' of Copy Job's work.

I don't know why its AppleScript connection would go invalid, unless somehow it crashed. And it doesn't seem like it has.

Anything in the Console for around the backup time that might give a hint about what's going on? Have you tried deleting and recreating your schedule?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-18-2008, 06:56 PM
tommasoh tommasoh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 11
Here's what I found in the console by searching for SD and Copy job.
No, I'm not quitting SD! while it's copying, since there's no drive to copy to and the copy job is there on hold for me to discover it.

Copy job.app part:
That's OS X trying to dismiss the dialog I guess. Note that the dialog itself stays onscreen even well after the desktop has disappeared during the log out / reboot process.

Code:
18/09/2008 12:07:06 loginwindow[34] sendQuitEventToApp (Copy Job): AESendMessage returned error -1712 
18/09/2008 12:07:06 loginwindow[34] ERROR | -[ApplicationManager quitPrivateProcesses] | Application "Copy Job" did not respond to quit event
SUperduper part:
(the last bit is me closing SD but the dialog which stays open)

Code:
18/09/2008 04:30:05 SuperDuper![1094] .scriptSuite warning for attribute 'boundsAsQDRect' of class 'NSWindow' in suite 'NSCoreSuite': 'NSData<QDRect>' is not a valid type name. 
18/09/2008 04:30:05 SuperDuper![1094] .scriptSuite warning for type 'NSTextStorage' attribute 'name' of class 'NSApplication' in suite 'NSCoreSuite': AppleScript name references may not work for this property because its type is not NSString-derived. 
18/09/2008 04:30:05 SuperDuper![1094] .scriptSuite warning for type 'NSTextStorage' attribute 'lastComponentOfFileName' of class 'NSDocument' in suite 'NSCoreSuite': AppleScript name references may not work for this property because its type is not NSString-derived. 
18/09/2008 04:30:05 SuperDuper![1094] .scriptSuite warning for type 'NSTextStorage' attribute 'lastComponentOfFileName' of class 'NSDocument' in suite 'NSCoreSuite': AppleScript name references may not work for this property because its type is not NSString-derived. 
18/09/2008 04:30:05 SuperDuper![1094] .scriptSuite warning for attribute 'boundsAsQDRect' of class 'NSWindow' in suite 'NSCoreSuite': 'NSData<QDRect>' is not a valid type name. 
18/09/2008 04:30:05 SuperDuper![1094] .scriptSuite warning for type 'NSTextStorage' attribute 'title' of class 'NSWindow' in suite 'NSCoreSuite': AppleScript name references may not work for this property because its type is not NSString-derived. 
18/09/2008 04:30:05 SuperDuper![1094] .scriptSuite warning for superclass of class 'NSAttachmentTextStorage' in suite 'NSTextSuite': 'NSString' is not a valid class name. 
18/09/2008 04:30:12 SuperDuper![1094] The automatic copy aborted because SuperDuper! could not locate the Source volume named 120. 
18/09/2008 10:49:16 com.apple.launchd[207] ([0x0-0x77077].com.blacey.SuperDuper![1094]) Exited: Terminated
Hope it tells you something...

Last edited by tommasoh; 09-18-2008 at 07:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-18-2008, 07:02 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,339
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It looks like the error with Copy Job happened much earlier, at 12:06...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-18-2008, 07:39 PM
tommasoh tommasoh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 11
No, I guess it's noon vs. 4 in the morning...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-18-2008, 11:25 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,339
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Right. So, nothing around the actual time of the error? This is what seems weird.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-19-2008, 07:14 AM
tommasoh tommasoh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 11
Huh... Is my english really that bad ;-) ? Everything in the log is at the time of the error and a few hours later after I woke up and lazily tried to dismiss SD!. 4.30.05, that's four in the morning, when the scheduler starts the job and SD! doesn't find the backup drive.

...

Anyway, an addendum. Yest I updated to 10.5.5 and the applescript nag is not there anymore (for this time at least). Now tho it was SD! that wouldn't quit...

Let me say that SD! works like a charm when the backup drive is connected. No quitting problems or anything else whatsoever.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-19-2008, 08:55 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,339
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK. I didn't understand what you had done: it's not that your english is bad, it's just not descriptive enough.

I'm not sure why the connection to SD! would have gone 'bad' mid-scripting if there was no manual intervention and no crash of SD! itself.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-16-2013, 02:53 PM
danmitch danmitch is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
OK. I didn't understand what you had done: it's not that your english is bad, it's just not descriptive enough.

I'm not sure why the connection to SD! would have gone 'bad' mid-scripting if there was no manual intervention and no crash of SD! itself.
I've had this same issue for some time on an intermittent basis with SD! At some point I, too, get this "Copy Job" window on the screen that contains a message reading "SuperDuper! got an error: Connection is invalid." with an "OK" button. Clicking the highlighted OK button has no effect, and it is impossible to dismiss the dialog.

Today I got it again after manually running three scheduled backups via the "Scheduled Copies" window, where I successively selected each and clicked the "Copy Now" buttons to start them. Each completed successively, but then I got (this time) the error dialog when I manually quit SD!.

Following this, I relaunched SD! successfully and tried to manually repeat one of the backups in the same manner. This time the process failed THE FIRST TIME with an error message about failing to preserve the spotlight state. I ran the same backup a second time and it worked and this error did not repeat.

Meanwhile the "SuperDuper! got an error..." dialog box remained (and still remains!) on the screen and is completely non responsive.

I'm running version SD! 2.7.1 v91.

This is an annoying issue since it requires a reboot (or at least a log out) to dismiss the dialog.

Thanks,

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-16-2013, 02:56 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,339
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That panel is not related to the same issue the user had, and should be fixed in 2.7.2, due soon.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-27-2013, 09:08 AM
jkbull jkbull is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Unable to dismiss "Copy Job" window -- details

I have been using SuperDuper! since 2006 and am very happy with it. It saved me lots of time when I've had drives fail.

This morning my computer shows a small window titled "Copy Job.app", with the text "SuperDuper! got an error: Connection is invalid." and an "OK" button.

I'm writing because the "OK" button doesn't dismiss the window -- it doesn't do anything. (I'm not worried about the error it is describing; I've resolved that myself.) This is the second or third time this or something similar has happened to me (and from this thread it has happened to others), so I thought I'd pass on as much as I can about the problem in the hope that I give you enough info to fix it.

Here's what I can tell you about the problem:

This happened using SuperDuper! Version 2.7.1 (v91).

The SuperDuper! process itself is gone; only it's "Copy Job" process is running.

Clicking on the window does NOT bring it to the front; that is, does not make visible any parts of the window that are obscured by other windows.

Clicking on the "OK" button also does nothing -- even make the button brighten or dim or change in any other way momentarily.

A process named "Copy Job" appears in Activity Monitor as being owned by me with three threads. The process is getting and sending Mach messages and making Unix system calls and having context switches, and every 8 seconds it uses 0.1 second of CPU time.

There is nothing relevant in the Console log.

The window does not appear in the display when I "Option - Tab", nor is it in the Dock. (Which seems reasonable; it is a background program -- but I thought I'd mention it.)

Although this is probably irrelevant, I am using OS X 10.8.5 Build 12F45 on an early 2011 MacBook Pro with a 2.3GHz Intel Core i5 and 16 GB 1333 Mhz DDR3 memory. The main drive is an OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD. (The error was accessing an external drive via Firewire.)

A "Quit" in Activity monitor successfully closed the window and quits the process. (A "Force Quit" was not required.)

A "Sample process" from Activity Monitor (before I quit the process) is attached.
Attached Files
File Type: txt Copy Job sample.txt (34.8 KB, 235 views)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-27-2013, 09:26 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,339
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
This is because it has been launched from cron and isn't attached to the same window server. Indeed, quit will quit it - and 2.7.2 should prevent it from ever appearing.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
connection is invalid


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 06:36 PM
Migrating from one hard drive to another zestyping General 3 07-25-2008 09:22 AM
MacBook Pro Drive with Boot Camp to boot into Vista scottsdale General 1 06-11-2008 09:09 AM
Best process to replace internal hard drive using SuperDuper!? emikysa General 26 02-09-2007 06:03 PM
Long Hang While Copying BackerUpper General 4 06-12-2006 09:26 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.