Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-25-2008, 11:05 PM
RedDog RedDog is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Unhappy don't have "permissions" to run my programs

After cloning 30 iMacs across the network with SD, I get a "permissions" error on ALL of my programs on ALL 30 systems. The original iMac that I took the image from works perfectly fine. Repairing permissions in Disk utility does not fix. Any ideas for me? Speak slowly, I am new to Mac :-)

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-25-2008, 11:08 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,339
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Permissions errors? What specific errors? Is this when you start up from the system?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-25-2008, 11:38 PM
RedDog RedDog is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Wow!
I have never had a reply to a post come in so fast. Thank you.
"The application "__" is not allowed.
"__" is not on the approved list of applications. Contact the person who setup your account.........
BUTTONS=Always allow, Allow once, OK.

It looks like Parental Controls are messed up. I checked the original iMac and the cloned ones, these controlls are in use, but programs that are allowed, are still getting this message. If I choose the button "Always Allow" the program runs until I log off and back on. Then the error message returns.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2008, 08:20 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,339
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK. Is this the most recent 10.5.4 version of OSX?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-26-2008, 10:25 AM
RedDog RedDog is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Yes, it is the very latest version.
The cloned image boots and runs perfectly, other than the parental controls issue.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-26-2008, 10:57 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,339
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK. If you look in the parental controls panel, do things 'look' right?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-26-2008, 11:19 AM
RedDog RedDog is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Yes they do. Programs that are allowed still get blocked; programs that are not allowed get blocked. Even when I select "Always Allow" on the error, they all get blocked again after logoff or restart. But, yes, everything looks correct inside Parental Controls.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-26-2008, 11:32 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,339
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Try selecting one of the applications that isn't working properly in the Parental Controls preference pane. Uncheck the app, quit the pref pane and go back in. Still unchecked?

If so, re-check and then see if that application works as expected.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-27-2008, 01:11 AM
RedDog RedDog is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
dnanian;

Thank you for your time and fast responses. After reviewing the original machine that I took the image from, I saw that the Parental controls were changing on it too. I googled the issue and found several posts complaining of broken Parental Controls. It looks like the latest updates from Apple have caused this on machines with multiple user accounts and there are no known fixes. Sorry I turned on SuperDuper as the cause.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-27-2008, 08:25 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,339
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No worries, RedDog; glad you're all set.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
permissions


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Leopard backup boots, but apps crash? Try this. dnanian General 80 09-21-2009 03:38 AM
Backup all but my system ealvarez General 6 06-04-2008 12:08 PM
From 12 min to 22 min for the same clone?! homesick General 6 01-25-2008 04:13 AM
Affiliate Programs? MMM General 1 04-04-2007 07:11 PM
Moving to a new Mac with programs I want to keep pu1958 General 1 10-19-2005 02:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.