Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-06-2008, 02:08 PM
jason jason is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
stalls while copying files

I've been using SD with my macbook for a while now without any problems, but just today it's started to get stuck while copying files? I've tried it several times and it always seems to get stuck in one of two places.

I'm guessing perhaps it's finding a file it doesn't like? If so, how can I find which file?

Appreciate any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-06-2008, 02:21 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Drop me a note to support and I'll provide a command that'll help...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-06-2008, 03:14 PM
jason jason is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks for the quick reply, I've sent an email to support. I actually sent another earlier today... are they getting through?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-06-2008, 03:52 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I'm certainly getting a ton of mail, so stand by and I'm sure it'll get in.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-08-2008, 12:40 PM
mitchcg mitchcg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Drop me a note to support and I'll provide a command that'll help...
I have exactly the same problem. I've been using SD for over a year to do daily backups of my system, but now it stalls during the copy. Then, when I "quit" SD I'm unable to unmount the drive. Even the unix "umount" command fails. I have to do a hard reset of my computer to get the disk to unmount.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-08-2008, 02:00 PM
joemac joemac is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Drop me a note to support and I'll provide a command that'll help...
why not just provide the info here?

it looks like several folks are or will be in need on this issue.

joemac
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-08-2008, 02:03 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Mitch, your problem seems like a hardware issue to me; likely a drive lockup, bus issue, etc.

joemac: because it's technical enough that I want to walk the user through.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-08-2008, 04:13 PM
mitchcg mitchcg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Mitch, your problem seems like a hardware issue to me; likely a drive lockup, bus issue, etc.

joemac: because it's technical enough that I want to walk the user through.
Dnanian,

This happens with any drive I attach to the computer. The drive I tried most recently is brand new. I've tried both Firewire ports as well. So yes, it could be hardware, but I don't think it's the drive or the Firewire adapter. Any other hints?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-08-2008, 04:25 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You'd really have to look at what's actually accessing the drive. Yes, we're copying files to it, but we're using very high level calls and can't really be 'locking up' the drive.

If the drive's "locking up" like that, it's either hardware (might be computer-side FireWire trouble) or some very low level software (e.g. drivers, AntiVirus).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-10-2008, 08:03 PM
schembs schembs is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
I also run into this problem on occasion

MacBook Pro (Intel), Mac OS X 10.4.11, backing up onto LaCie drive.

Could it be this particular combination of software and hardware?

Even when it doesn't appear to stop mid-backup, the backups take much more time than they did before this problem started happening for me.

Any suggested resolution?

Thanks,

RJ
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-10-2008, 08:27 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The issue that we know about has no effect at all on speed. Downgrading to v2.1.4 will certainly stop the status display 'update' issue, but -- again -- no speed issue, and I'm unaware of any actual 'problem' with speed in SD.

Other things, though, like Spotlight, AntiVirus, etc could cause problems, of course. As could hardware issues.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-16-2008, 01:11 AM
Fraser Fraser is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
I have had the same problem for the last couple of weeks. I am backing up a fairly small drive that takes less than 15 minutes to complete. It seemed to stall at the same place after about 5 minutes. I left it alone while I made some coffee and when I came back, SD said the backup was complete, it showed 13 minutes elapsed time and the usual number of files checked. I checked some files on the backup and they were up to date. I think it is just the progress display that is at fault.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-16-2008, 09:08 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
What Mac and what OS version, Fraser? Remember: if we're copying a large file, the status display will not update again until that large file has been copied.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-21-2008, 01:14 PM
Michael Hyatt Michael Hyatt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 11
Question Same Problem Here

I am having the exact problem. SuperDuper backs about half the drive, then stalls on 58,118 of 1,202,913 files evaluated. This has been happening for about two weeks now.

I am running a MacBook Pro 2.5 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo with 4GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM. I am using Mac OS 10.5.4. I am backing up to a 1 TB MyBook External Drive. I have 370 GB of free disk space available.

I am also backing up to this same external drive via Time Machine. It is working flawlessly.

What do I need to do to remedy this?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-21-2008, 01:23 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Drop me a note and we'll see what it's copying, Michael. (I think you already did, though -- I see three identical support reqeusts that came in after this.)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Machine stopped working - SuperDuper involved? adriansmith General 18 02-20-2008 04:48 PM
auto-disconnect "server" after copying files digSD General 16 08-21-2007 02:55 PM
SuperDuper!'s Process for Copying Files? pwharff General 1 06-06-2007 02:54 PM
Copying newer files across volumes. chip General 1 08-09-2006 09:07 PM
Smart update copying all files each time fabius General 15 05-29-2005 10:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.