Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-12-2005, 02:18 AM
Darkside Darkside is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
What does Edit > Show All Copy Scripts do? (seriously)

This may seem like a silly question, but really, what does it do? I select it, and then the menu item is checked, but I don't notice any visible changes in the program or its operation.

What am I missing? I know this is going to be painfully obvious, but I'm oblivious right now.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-12-2005, 10:51 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Nope, it's a bug. We should just remove this menu entry, and I've logged a case against it.

The basic reason for the checkbox was to allow all the copy scripts, including the ones that aren't show to the user, to be displayed in the menu. As the "UI Guy", it's not something that I particular wanted, and considering that no one has noticed that it was broken until this very minute, I'm not sure anyone else wants it either!

I'll suggest removing it in v2.0. Thanks for pointing out the problem.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-12-2005, 11:51 AM
Darkside Darkside is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
As the "UI Guy", it's not something that I particular wanted, and considering that no one has noticed that it was broken until this very minute, I'm not sure anyone else wants it either!
What I would like is a cleaner way of viewing/editing all available Copy Scripts (standard and custom) within SD, rather than having to open a bunch of files in the Finder. It would also be great to quickly view which scripts include and are included by other scripts, and then quickly view the specifics those other scripts.

For me, a feature like that would have quickly demystified the perceived voodoo of the "behind the scenes" Copy Scripts that do the work of the primary Backup and "Sandbox" scripts. I'm probably a little bit more curious in this respect than the average user (case in point: http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=356), but it seems that an interface like this would enhance the usability of SD's potential power. (That didn't sound quite as much like marketing-speak in my head. )

I know you're going to be addressing the Copy Scripts name and interface in 2.0, and on your blog (I'm holding you to that "subject for another post" comment you made in "SuperDuper! design error #78,272" ). I'll leave the specifics up to the UI geniuses that you are; it's no small feat to make something as traditionally complex as perfectly backup up your life / hard drive as simple as SD makes it seem.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-12-2005, 12:01 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The "Copy Scripts" name might not be changed in 2.*0*, because I'm still stuck on what it should be. But it, and its UI, will get looked at in the 2.x series unless something with more user impact bumps up on the list.

We're consciously "hiding" the power of the Copy Scripts behind SD!'s UI. But, while I don't to expose "regular users" to them too much, I want to make the basic functionality more usable than it is right now, while not over-investing in it (thus penalizing the higher-impact issues). It's a tough line to toe, or row to hoe (or insert your own personal favorite cliché here), but I think we've done well so far... thanks for noticing!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to copy Sandbox back to Macintosh HD? BudSimrin General 3 03-31-2007 08:46 AM
Questions about "exclude system cache/temporary files" Copy Scripts Darkside General 1 05-12-2005 10:48 AM
Script to copy only certain files nakris General 2 04-14-2005 06:16 PM
SuperDuper failed to copy, interpret this error mwarner General 1 02-13-2005 11:05 AM
When I try to copy a single directory, I end up copying the whole disk. Why? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 06-22-2004 07:59 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.