Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-2007, 12:17 PM
davedbw davedbw is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bloomington IL
Posts: 1
Laptop sleep w or w.o. lid closed?

I'm trying to get SD to run from sleep mode. Have sleep set to wake 1 min prior to SDs runtime. Trying to sort out whether the lid on a laptop can be closed, or whether it needs to be open, when wakeup and then SD runs.

The scheduled sync isn't working and trying to sort out the variables. This is a Tiger, not Leopard, MacBook. Are there some system settings on the Mac required for an app to run with the lid closed that I'm missing.

Thanks for any help.
__________________
Dave W.
Bloomington IL
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-08-2007, 12:28 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I don't believe you can have a laptop wake with the lid closed, Dave.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2007, 01:30 AM
TMay TMay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 118
davedbw

(First let me say my laptop is the last Powerbook, not Macbook, so how Intel might have changed things, I don't know for sure, but I don't think it changed this.)

Dave N. is partly right. As far as I know, you can't wake a Mac laptop with the lid closed....UNLESS you have an external monitor connected. Do you?

I do on mine (when it is at my desk) and the machine can be awakened by any of the usual ways without opening the lid. This has been a standard feature of the last three or four generations of Powerbook. As I say, I am not certain this was carried over to the Intel laptops, but I hope so, as it's very useful.

Specifically, you can wake the machine with the Energy Saver CP as usual and then run your SD schedule. About system settings, the monitor needs to be plugged in, on (although it can be sleeping) and to have been chosen in the Displays CP. (Actually, it may be enough that the external monitor is plugged in to the Mac and is selected in the Displays CP. I think mine has worked [SD scheduled backup, that is] when the power to the monitor was in fact switched off.)

As to why your schedule isn't running, that is Dave N's department.

Last edited by TMay; 12-10-2007 at 01:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sleep wonky? R Bygrave General 12 06-20-2007 05:58 PM
Behavior on Sleep raptor256 General 2 11-30-2006 03:04 PM
Laptop Backup :: Unmount, Then Sleep option? applegeek General 7 11-27-2006 09:15 PM
Crash on sleep after clone jofallon General 3 10-19-2006 12:32 PM
Getting SD to Allow Sleep after Copy Pixx General 5 02-19-2005 08:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.