Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-31-2007, 04:29 PM
stuppy stuppy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Leopard and Smart Backups

Hello,

I understand that SD! is not yet fully compatible with Leopard. However from what I read here the only problem is creating a bootable backup?

Well, this is my first time using SuperDuper. I was waiting for Time Machine before I started my regular backups - but I found Superduper and it seems much better.

My issue is -

I am creating backups into Sparseimage files - from several disks onto one backup drive. I made a little script thing to exclude all files on the drives except the folders I wanted (4 folders in total - about 25gb). I ran the Smart Backup for the first time and it backed up the information. No problems I thought. Then when I ran it next time, again using Smart Backup thinking it would skim over pretty much all of it and maybe make a few changes - it actually copied everything again. The full 25gb.

Is there a reason for this that you know of? I let it do another full smart backup, then straight away did it again and it copied it all again - instead of just skimming it and checking that the files were the same.

Is this a Leopard bug you are aware of?

Thanks

PS Eta of Leopard compatible?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-31-2007, 04:33 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's definitely one problem we've noticed... yes.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-31-2007, 05:16 PM
stuppy stuppy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Oh good.

Glad its not something I am doing wrong then

Do you have any idea of when we can expect an update of the software?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-31-2007, 05:22 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
As soon as it's ready, stuppy.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-01-2007, 06:20 PM
drmoss_ca drmoss_ca is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
The problems I note are that scheduled backups don't happen, but can be manually started. No log seems to be kept, or at least, isn't available by clicking the log button. Backups are not 'smart' - all are complete copies slowly and painfully completed. Looking forward to the Leopard compatible version!

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-01-2007, 11:53 PM
mzupan mzupan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
As soon as it's ready, stuppy.
Are we talking 'Duke Nukem Forever' "when it's ready"?

(sorry... I've had that joke in my head for the past few days. Now it's out of my system... hehe)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-01-2007, 11:55 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No. But we're not a "marketing date driven" organization. I'm not going to drive processes to a date, I'm going to methodically ensure that things are as they should be, and not use you guys -- the public -- as guinea pigs. We value you too much to rush.

So, when I say "when it's ready", that's exactly what I mean.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-02-2007, 03:37 PM
mzupan mzupan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 6
My comment was purely a joke. I am behind you 100%. People rely on their backups, so I'm all for getting it right instead of putting out a rushed version with major bugs.

You all are doing a great job!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-04-2007, 08:13 AM
agentfive agentfive is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
We're seeing this same issue. I'm going to only have it smart update MWF instead - given the amount of time it takes - also the copy speed slows to a crawl at the end.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading to 10.5 Leopard: Best Approach? AJ500 General 15 10-28-2007 12:38 AM
Update on SD and Leopard Functionality? brich General 6 06-21-2007 05:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.