Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2007, 11:27 PM
Mojo Mojo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 37
Using Migration Assistant and A Cloned External Drive...Possible?

I am considering upgrading my 20" G5 iMac to a 24" Intel iMac. Normally I would use the Apple Migration Assistant to move stuff from the old to new Mac. Unfortunately, the G5 iMac Firewire ports aren't functioning at the moment; I will be getting a motherboard replacement via AppleCare before I sell it.

My understanding is that the Firewire ports must be used with Migration Assistant. Can I use Migration Assistant with the new iMac connected to an external drive containing a clone of the G5 iMac and move the data from the external drive?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2007, 11:43 PM
timlance timlance is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 75
I did just this a few days ago to set up a MacBook. I can't now remember why I didn't just use the MacBook Pro I use everyday. And so here's the point: Not only can you do it from a clone on an external drive, that drive doesn't have to be Firewire. My clone is a USB2 and Miggration Assistant saw it as Firewire in Target mode.

I'm not sure if the same is true is your clone is an image.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-14-2007, 12:43 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You can definitely do this from a drive (written directly), but not from an image, as far as I know.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-14-2007, 10:02 AM
timlance timlance is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 75
It'd be interesting to know. I bet it would. When I did it I already had the drive plugged into the MacBook. When it came to the "connect the drive" step nothing happened except a error telling me to boot a machine I wanted to migrate from. I thought "A-ha" and started everything but didn't plug the machine in until told to connect drive. Powering on the drive must appear as booting. I wonder if mounting would appear likewise.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-14-2007, 10:04 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The problem is -- how do you mount the image? You don't have control at that point...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-14-2007, 01:34 PM
timlance timlance is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 75
Well, ya know ...

D'oh!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-29-2007, 02:08 PM
Scott3647 Scott3647 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Question How do I clone a new iMac from a backup on an external drive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
You can definitely do this from a drive (written directly), but not from an image, as far as I know.
So what are the exact steps to do this?

I'm new to Macs. I purchased a 20" Intel iMac and spent over a WEEK sorting files and installing software. I now need to return the iMac to AppleCare due to a defective iSight and await a new one. As I type this on another computer, I'm making an exact copy backup onto an external drive using Superduper.

Trouble is, I don't know what to do with the external drive when the new iMac arrives. Since it's just a hard drive, I don't know how to put it into "firewire target mode" that you would put an actual computer into by holding down the T key while starting up (to use the Migration Assistant).

Can anyone provide a step-by-step tutorial?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-29-2007, 02:31 PM
timlance timlance is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 75
In my post abovve I said I just plugged it in when told to start the computer in Target mode. Worked for me.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-29-2007, 03:12 PM
Scott3647 Scott3647 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by timlance View Post
I thought "A-ha" and started everything but didn't plug the machine in until told to connect drive. Powering on the drive must appear as booting.
What you said here confuses me. it looks like you were migrating from an external drive to a MacBook. Plugging in a MacBook should make no difference since it runs on battery power when not plugged in. What "machine" do you refer to? Did you mean you didn't plug the DRIVE into a power outlet? or plug the drive into the MacBook? I'm sorry, but I'm still unsure.

I'm not computer saavy. I need step-by-step instructions.

From what you wrote, I'm guessing I need to:
  1. Turn off my external drive making sure it's not attached to new iMac by any cable
  2. Start my new iMac for the first time
  3. When I get to the Migration Assistant, I should connect the firewire cable
  4. Then I should power on the drive
  5. The new iMac should recognize the external drive as if it were in an old Mac in Firewire Target Mode
  6. Migration Assistant should clone the external drive onto the Macintosh HD drive of the new iMac
  7. When I disconnect the external drive and reboot the new iMac, it should boot from its internal drive and have the same contents and settings as the old iMac that was backed up on the external drive
Is this correct?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-29-2007, 04:46 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That sounds right to me, Scott.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-31-2007, 12:41 PM
James James is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott3647 View Post
From what you wrote, I'm guessing I need to:
  1. Turn off my external drive making sure it's not attached to new iMac by any cable
  2. Start my new iMac for the first time
  3. When I get to the Migration Assistant, I should connect the firewire cable
  4. Then I should power on the drive
  5. The new iMac should recognize the external drive as if it were in an old Mac in Firewire Target Mode
  6. Migration Assistant should clone the external drive onto the Macintosh HD drive of the new iMac
  7. When I disconnect the external drive and reboot the new iMac, it should boot from its internal drive and have the same contents and settings as the old iMac that was backed up on the external drive
Is this correct?
This is the way I did it although I did a few things different, For number 3/5 I used a USB2 HDD which had a partition with a Bootable Backup. And for number 7, well I never disconnected my drive as I never saw a way to eject it, when I eventually got booted into OS X the external drive was still connected and mounted on the desktop.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Migration Assistant dardar General 3 04-19-2007 01:06 PM
Migration assistant from Samba drive? bram2000 General 5 09-24-2006 03:35 PM
using migration assistant with cloned PB G4 on external firewire drive llscholes General 3 05-27-2006 05:18 PM
Possible FAQ: Migration Assistant and SD Backup reeses General 1 10-31-2005 01:44 PM
PowerMac G5 won't recognize SuperDuper Backup on External FW Drive BobbyMiller General 7 05-12-2005 12:53 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.