Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2007, 10:27 PM
llords llords is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Does SuperDuper really clone the complete harddisk with partion for Mac & Windows?

I have a MacBook, Intel Core Duo, 2GHz, 1GB Memory

Harddisk:- Toshiba 60GB (Partion 40GB - Journaled HFS+) & (Partion 20GB - MS-DOS FAT32).

I would like to upgrade my internal harddisk to 100GB.

Question: Does SuperDuper make clone for the complete hard-disk for both the 40GB and 20GB into the 100GB in single task?
If so, where's the new extra 40GB going to? the mac partion or th MS partion?

Or, I would have to clone twice? One for the mac, and another time for the MS partion?

Hope someone can explain more... Thank you in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-01-2007, 10:39 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
We do not copy non-HFS+ partitions, so this isn't something we can do... sorry!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-01-2007, 11:02 PM
llords llords is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
We do not copy non-HFS+ partitions, so this isn't something we can do... sorry!
In short, do you mean that SD can only clone the Mac hard-disk partion, and not the MS-Dos FAT32?

Hence, does this mean I need a difference software to handle the Windows partion in my Mac?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-01-2007, 11:05 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's right. We only copy HFS+ partitions - I'd suggest using Windows-based software to back up a Windows install: I think that's likely safest, since it'll be designed and tested with Windows in mind.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-01-2007, 11:09 PM
llords llords is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
THANKS for your quick and straight respond.

Anyway, there's nothing really important from the Windows partion.
I shall just forget it, and work only on my Mac partion.

Will try the SD, once I have the new harddisk ready.

Keep you posted, and thank you for the software.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-03-2007, 09:27 AM
davep davep is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 33
You can still run Windows AND backup

I'm not recommending Windows, but if you have to use it, install Parallels Desktop to run Windows. Parallels does not create a Windows partition so SuperDuper! will work. Also, Parallels eliminates the need to reboot into Windows, which is a productivity killer.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-02-2007, 11:54 AM
PetC PetC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
I have an Intel MacBook Pro partitioned for the OS-X (.4.10) and since I need some Windows application software, a 32GB Fat-32 partition which I access via Mac's Bootcamp. I want to start using Parallels, and not necessarily Bootcamp) and want to know the best way to back everything up rock solid so that IF I have an install problem with Parallels, I can get back to where I am today.
I understood one thread in this forum to say I can create an Image of the Windows side, yet here you say I can't back it up. I am confused as to what to do. Please help. TIA.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-02-2007, 11:59 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Unfortunately, we can't copy FAT32 drives, PetC. My general suggestion is to store Windows in a 'virtual disk' stored on your regular drive... but if you're already using BootCamp that's likely not practical.

There might be some Windows programs that would more effectively back up your Windows files, and would likely know how to restore them most appropriately as well...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-02-2007, 12:44 AM
stokessd stokessd is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 11
I backup to a sparse image on network storage, and I have used carbon copy cloner in the past. I've had some problems with it, but it appears that those are solved with 3.0.1. I am using superduper and like it better, but I keep CCC around because I can clone my NTFS partition to a sparse image with it.

I strongly suspect that it's not a perfect image in that I can't just push it back to the drive and expect it to work, but it does provide a backup of my windows files if I goober things up, I can manually push things back.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ARGGG. Why doesn't SuperDuper recognize my Boot Camp windows drive?? swb General 1 08-09-2006 12:00 PM
SuperDuper does not copy from my internal to my external harddisk... as.contact General 9 07-16-2005 08:07 PM
Bug in SuperDuper clone? zack General 3 01-24-2005 01:28 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.