Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-31-2014, 02:49 PM
tuni tuni is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 111
Unhappy post boot-up from SD clone, icons quivering

After I boot up from my SD clone (latest version of SD, also Yosemite with all updates), the icons on my desktop are quivering/shaking. I am using a 1 year old MBPro13 w/retina. This is happening all the time after the SD boot up from the external hard drives. I have tried this on each external drive (Voyager/Icy Dock/LaCie) (the LaCie recently failed so have trashed that one, but it was happening on that too) that I have. I have used various hard drives in each of the docks. It happens all of the time. It appears all my applications and web sites are working as they should but the quivering/shaking is a big problem.

I am concerned that if I needed to use one of these clones as my fall-back, the quivering would prevent me from any meaningful productivity. Any thoughts as to what could be causing this and suggestions for a fix would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-31-2014, 03:06 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That sounds weird. What happens if you start up in safe boot?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-01-2015, 06:17 PM
tuni tuni is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 111
haven't tried that. will try booting up in safe mode and see what happens. will let you know. But, if it does work that way, is that the way I would have to boot up if something happens to be MBPro? Doesn't sound like fun to me
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-01-2015, 06:36 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, just trying to figure out what might be going on here. I've never heard of icons "wiggling" on OS X, except in Launchpad (when you click and hold there)!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2015, 03:41 PM
tuni tuni is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 111
Dave,
My apologies for not relying to you sooner re. this issue - life sometimes just gets in the way, right? The problem of the jumping desktop icons upon reboot from the SD Clone continue.

I have now experimented with 2 different external hard drives, it happens with both. I have repaired/verified each drive. No apparent resolution as a result of this. I believe it has something to do with the SD program and "Finder" on my Mac. I cannot utilize Finder at all upon re-booting from the clone. Finder won't work.....and whatever application I have opened, just trying them out - finder reverts back to the last opened application. Anything on my dock that shows it is open, is what re-opens. Obviously, I would not be able to work from the SD Clone due to this problem. I did not try "safe Mode" as I wouldn't be using that as a work around if my MBPro failed.

You mentioned that you have not heard about this problem from anyone else???? I have no idea how to resolve this issue and am very concerned re. my ability to use the SD clones should I have the need.

Do you have any ideas as to the cause of the problem and how to fix it. Or should I re-install SD? (I imagine there's a way to do this?). I don't want to just give up on the program, its too important to me and my work. Thanks for your advice and possible remedies.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-26-2015, 05:36 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
What happens if you boot in "Safe Boot" from that drive (Shift from power on all the way to the desktop)?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clone of Clone will not boot on new drive. fmlogue General 1 08-27-2011 05:39 PM
Boot SnowLeopard Mac w/Leopard clone? geiswood General 8 04-03-2011 03:45 PM
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 06:36 PM
Can't boot from SuperDuper clone HD. HDH607 General 1 09-10-2008 09:50 AM
Unable to boot from clone backup after update tleveque General 1 02-06-2008 01:47 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.