Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2012, 05:27 PM
fred fred is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 46
Superduper as an ordinary file backup

I have always used superduper to make a complete bootable clone, however I wonder if the use I am now making of it is a good idea or not.

My 2TB internal HD was beginning to fill up with files like movies music and large series, much of which I preferred to have archived.

So I moved much of that stuff to a separate drive and deleted it from the internal HD. I then used SD to make a clone of the new slimmed down HD, so far so good.

My question is about using SD to clone my new drive of audio and video files (no OS) to another drive so that they are backed up separately. Is this a good use of superduper or would I be better off simply dragging the files from one drive to the other.

The reason I ask is that without thinking the first thing I did was drag all the folders containing the files to the other drive then I had second thoughts about that and instead stopped that reformatted the drive and started again using SD to copy the files. However it seemed that using SD was a fair bit slower.

Does this seem right? Does SD arrange the files in a harder to copy way in order for smart update to work? Which btw is the reason I thought I'd use SD so I could simply drop new files to the Audio/Video backup volume and then smart update its clone it at a later time.

So just to be clear, I now have an internal drive bootably cloned to an external drive. And two more external drives, one for files and one that is a clone of the files.

thanks

Last edited by fred; 12-05-2012 at 05:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2012, 05:32 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,357
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Sure, it's happy to do that. We're just looking at the files as "files".
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2012, 08:14 PM
fred fred is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 46
OK thanks for the quick reply. Is there any reason why SD would take longer copying all the files than if I did not use SD and just dragged them over? Or am I imagining this.

regards fred.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2012, 11:04 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,357
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Only by being more complete, Fred, including all metadata, etc.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Failed to enable ownership on SuperDuper BackUp Anne West General 1 02-03-2010 02:38 PM
crazy file copy / backup problem nakris General 5 02-16-2009 07:23 PM
Backup failure on a certain file bmat General 3 09-25-2007 10:06 AM
SuperDuper Failing on Backup - I/O Errors Stephen Kuhn General 1 08-13-2006 05:03 PM
(Zero-length) File caused SuperDuper to abort backup alancfrancis General 7 08-31-2005 11:42 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.