Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2012, 02:43 PM
DavidCB DavidCB is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 62
Smart Update disk image?

I have a sparse bundle disk image in both volume A and volume B, along with other files. If I make changes to the disk image in A, when I use Smart Update to copy A to B, is the entire disk image copied again or only the changes?

Also, does the same apply to all types of disk images (not just sparse bundle ones), and does encryption make any difference?

Thank you,

David

Last edited by DavidCB; 03-20-2012 at 03:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2012, 03:47 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,339
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If you're copying them mounted (that is, from volume to volume), they're treated just like any other drive, and the changes are made. Same for all volumes, image or not, encryption or not.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2012, 03:51 PM
DavidCB DavidCB is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 62
What if the disk image is just one of many files on a drive and you are Smart Updating the whole drive? (In this case the disk image would not be mounted.)

David
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-20-2012, 04:28 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,339
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Then the bands of the bundle that have changed would be copied. In the case of a sparse image, the whole thing (if changed).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-13-2012, 01:12 PM
Gardenian Gardenian is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Then the bands of the bundle that have changed would be copied. In the case of a sparse image, the whole thing (if changed).
In the case, then, where one wants to keep synced two external drives which contain sparse images, the most efficient procedure without a custom script would seem to be, first, to mount the sparse images on both drives, then perform a copy between them; finally, perform a copy between the drives, which will skip the sparse images and copy the other modified files on the source drive. But there is probably something wrong with this procedure, yes?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-13-2012, 03:01 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,339
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes. The dates of the band files will be different, regardless of the state of their contents, and so will be copied again.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple errors of kind: "Caught I/O exception(5): Input/output error" amagjo General 7 04-14-2009 11:01 PM
Cannot Read SuperDuper! Image from Tiger in Leopard ecornips General 2 12-11-2007 10:50 PM
Smart Update to Sparse Image takes up far more space than source harvardslacker General 3 06-09-2007 02:08 PM
Undersized disk image and a Boot Camp-related backup question garybollocks General 3 10-23-2006 02:07 PM
SuperDuper Backup of AES 128 Encrypted Disk Image rwg4 General 3 11-30-2005 11:28 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.