Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-21-2011, 11:35 PM
eric inazaki eric inazaki is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
update fails, why?

SuperDuper fails at updating. I get a "the version check failed due to a "could not connect to the server" error...". Wireshark tells me SuperDuper is trying to open an http connection to someplace on the Comcast network. My Firefox seems to do a similar thing (update via http) with no problem.

I've seen other threads on this subject with no resolution so I thought I'd ask again. Why doesn't the update function work (reliably)?

BTW, I've seen this problem on two different versions, 2.6.4 and, I think 2.6.2 (not very much older than current). And the problem was observed on different Macs and on different networks.

Any ideas?

eric
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2011, 11:42 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Our update server is temporarily down, and due to holiday travel, we're unable to get it back up quickly. That said, there is no update to deliver (and any update can be downloaded from my web site directly), so there's nothing to worry about.

We'll get it up again as soon as we can. Apologies for the difficulties.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-21-2011, 11:49 PM
eric inazaki eric inazaki is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Our update server is temporarily down, and due to holiday travel, we're unable to get it back up quickly. That said, there is no update to deliver (and any update can be downloaded from my web site directly), so there's nothing to worry about.

We'll get it up again as soon as we can. Apologies for the difficulties.
Thanks for the fast followup. Judging by the posts it looked like this is has been an off and on problem for quite some time. Maybe the earlier issues were some other problem. One of my coworkers, who had the same upgrade problem, suggested the web site thing also.

Thanks again,
eric
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-22-2011, 08:17 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
This does not happen often - it's nearly always a problem on the user's system (typically it's Little Snitch). In this case, though, it's our fault.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Target Drive (w/ Smart Update) Becomes Full sduttonusa General 1 05-19-2009 08:55 AM
Backup problem after recent VirusBarrier X5 update grmlaw General 3 07-21-2008 10:27 PM
Spotlight Privacy tab refuses to recognize SuperDuper Smart Update -- 100% repeatable RFMoya General 4 09-22-2007 02:46 PM
Smart Update Question gbjerry General 1 06-24-2006 08:43 AM
OSX Update and firewire Khuzud General 1 02-27-2006 12:50 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.