Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2010, 07:56 AM
MasterDomino MasterDomino is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Exclamation Back up gone wrong. SD writes files to Start Volume???

Hi everyone.

I seem to have a huge and now rather urgent problem.

I just wanted to backup my girlfriend's MacBook with its 250GB drive. I connected an 250GB external USB drive which I first erased with the disk utility. I then downloaded SD (unregistered) and started the Backup process.

I am ABSOLUTELY sure that I put her Start volume on the left and the external target volume on the right - I even triple checked after the (following) problem occured.

There were some 17 GB free space left on her Start volume.
I started the backup process and everything went as it should for a while.
Then suddenly this OS X warning pops up "Not much space left on start volume, erase some files etc.".

I then checked the space on the start volume and indeed it showed me 0 kb of space left. I then started to panic and stopped the SD process, since it was the only program that was doing anything (it was happily keeping on with the backup) and I suspected it to be the program that was causing the problem.

I then shut down SD (had to force quit it), restarted the MacBook and the space is still gone. And on my USB hard drive are now pretty much exactly 17 GB which seems to equal the amount of data that was also written to the MB.

Does anybody know what is going on? It seems like SD has written some data to my Source volume?
I have been using SD (registered) for years and never had any problems with it. And now something like this happens and I have no clue, what's going on.

Is there a way to fix things back to their old status? And how can I make a proper backup now?

Regards,

MD

Edit: All the original data seems to be there, but I cannot be sure (if maybe the process after it reached 0 kb of open space started to maybe overwrite original data).
Also when I search one of the files that are already backed up to the USB drive with Spotlight on the MB I do not find the file twice, but only once (I was kind of expecting to maybe find the file a second time in case SD had for some reason started to write the very same files to the Start volume).

OS is 10.5.8 btw.

Last edited by MasterDomino; 09-25-2010 at 08:05 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2010, 09:33 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,339
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I'm sure you received an error indicating that the destination volume was disconnected unexpectedly... because the destination failed.

Use Finder's "Go To Folder" command to open

/Volumes

Once there look for a folder (not a link/alias) with the name of the destination. Delete that folder and empty your trash and your space will return.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-25-2010, 11:09 AM
MasterDomino MasterDomino is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Hi dnanian,

thank you so much! That brought my disk space back.
And now that you mention it, I think it did indeed say that the volume was disconnected unexpectedly.

But I still do not quite understand SD's behaviour in this case. So when the target volume disconnects unexpectedly SD keeps on writing files to the Start volume? Without giving an error message?

Just to be 100% sure: When it does that, what happens when it reaches the point that the Start Volume is completely filled? Can I be sure that it will not overwrite ANY original files?

Thank you again!

Regards,

MD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-25-2010, 01:28 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,339
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It will not overwrite ANY original files. All of the data is restricted to the /Volumes folder, which ONLY has mount points.

Writing this way only happens when the system converts the mount point to a folder without returning an error to us. We're looking at various ways of detecting it that won't slow things down... but it's extremely rare.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2010, 12:22 PM
ktsf ktsf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Hi,
I've had the same problem: http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/s...ead.php?t=5471

Just go to Finder>Go>Go to Folder>type "/" without the "". Or run the Terminal command given in the above thread.

There you should find a fake "Volume" that has the name of your backup volume. Just delete it, restart, and do the cloning again. Alternatively you may try another cloning app.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-27-2010, 12:37 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,339
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, definitely not "/" - you want to open (using Go To Folder)

Code:
/Volumes
Be very careful. If you have something at "/" you have a totally different problem.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-02-2011, 11:35 AM
aplnub aplnub is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 21
We continually have this problem with SuperDuper on a MBP 13" Unibody. Anyone know why we experience this problem on this computer over and over?
__________________
QC i7 iMac and unibody MB 13" Aluminum armed with SuperDuper!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-02-2011, 11:50 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,339
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
This can only happen if the backup drive fails in a pretty unusual way - why that's happening to you over-and-over, in particular, I don't know. Do you have a lot of devices attached?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Retransferring clone back to blank drive doesn't copy all files PatrickS General 1 11-03-2009 06:58 PM
Back up a network volume to a local volume Albee General 3 07-31-2009 11:36 AM
Cloned Volume...Data Files? iGrooveLA General 2 10-22-2007 03:16 AM
A SuperDuper Back Up Strategy Bagelturf General 3 09-09-2007 02:23 PM
How do I back up to a volume that has files on it? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 05-02-2004 02:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.