Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-04-2010, 08:41 PM
justn justn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
SuperDuper crashes after telling it to copy

After I confirm that I want to copy, superduper goes to the next screen and then it crashes without triggering the OS X crash dialog.

I'm running 10.6.3 on a new 2010 MacBook Pro 15" 2.4GHz core i5.

My Backup drive is daisy-chained to another drive which then goes to my MacBook Pro via a firewire 400 to 800 cable. I have used this setup all the time, only without the firewire 400 to 800 cable. However, I do not believe the cable is bad because data can be read and written to the drives.

Last edited by justn; 05-04-2010 at 08:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-04-2010, 09:55 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Try re-locking and re-unlocking the lock in the main window (and make sure you are running SD! from your startup drive, and not the backup drive -- a common mistake when people launch with Spotlight).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-05-2010, 01:14 PM
justn justn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Re-locking and re-unlocking made it work. Thanks Dave.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-12-2010, 06:59 PM
ruftytufty ruftytufty is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
I have the same problem. Spring 2010 MacBook Pro 13" (Core 2 Duo), 10.6.4. Happened 100% of the time, and the lock/unlock fix works.

I couldn't find any sort of crash log in the usual places.

Fortunately, scheduled jobs do run.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-12-2010, 08:03 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
This can happen if you've migrated or copied an unlocked SuperDuper! to another Mac, or if you're running SD! from something other than the startup drive...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-30-2011, 06:27 PM
rbarkley671 rbarkley671 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Same crashing problem, same solution

I recently "migrated" to a new MB Pro (17" quad core running 10.6.8) and attempted my first backup to an external FW drive. Same problem as described above. Found this in the console

6/30/11 2:00:23 PM authexec[24741] executing /Applications Added/SuperDuper/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/MacOS/SDAgent
6/30/11 2:00:27 PM SuperDuper![24660] ***ERROR OCCURRED: SDAgent 24741 is not running as root.
6/30/11 2:00:27 PM SuperDuper![24660] ***ERROR OCCURRED: ****FAILED****: result=256 errno=22 (Unknown error: 0)
6/30/11 2:00:27 PM com.apple.launchd.peruser.503[109] ([0x0-0xa10a1].com.blacey.SuperDuper![24660]) Exited abnormally: Broken pipe

Every time I tried to run. I had the padlock locked so I had to enter my PW. In the activity monitor I could find no "SDAgent. I saw this this thread and tried unlocking. It's runing fine now! And SDAgent and SDCopy are two processes that weren't there before. Makes sense as they are children of SD and would vanish when it crashes.

So the question is, is it possible to run SD with the padlock closed? If so, how?

Thanks,
Richard
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-30-2011, 06:28 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Sure, you can run with the padlock closed. But when you migrated, you did so with the padlock open, and Finder didn't preserve all the attributes of the application. That's why you had to re-lock/unlock, etc.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-30-2011, 09:20 PM
rbarkley671 rbarkley671 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks for clarifying. That should have been obvious to me but wasn't.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Booting from backup guruuno General 27 10-17-2009 12:53 AM
Failed to copy error lmatheo General 1 03-20-2009 09:27 AM
Superduper hanging on copy HamelCamel General 2 02-23-2009 02:33 PM
SuperDuper does not copy from my internal to my external harddisk... as.contact General 9 07-16-2005 08:07 PM
Error: No space left on device tradervic General 11 06-29-2005 05:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.