Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-03-2010, 10:22 AM
ncmphoto ncmphoto is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 12
SD hangs on "Restoring Spotlight state on OSXBackup"

I've been having some problems with my boot drive recently (G4 MDD/OSX 10.5.8) involving slowdowns - beachballs, apps very slow to launch, etc.) after the Mac has been running for a while. I've run Disk Utility - says boot drive is OK - permissions repair, applejack, Disk Warrior (only one icon flag to fix), Hardware Test (came up clean). Another symptom is that the external FireWire backup drive sometimes shows up as a boot option and sometimes does not, when booting with the Option key held down. When it's there, it does boot normally and seems to run fine. Also, twice when rebooting from my main boot drive the desktop appeared but the menubar and other stuff didn't. After a reboot it seemed to be working normally.

I have a 2nd internal hd where I had a backup of my older OSX 10.4.11 system (before ugrading to Leopard about a month ago). Since the external was behaving a bit weirdly I used SD to erase and do a complete backup of the boot drive, but it hung about 3/4 of the way through. Numbers and progress bar didn't change. So I quit that process and used DU to reformat the drive, ran DU on the boot drive (no problems) then ran SD again. It finished copying but now is hanging on the last step - restoring Spotlight state on the clone. Is it ok to quit SD and will the backup drive be bootable (that part and the prebinding did finish)?

BTW I'm running SD when booted with my login items disabled and not doing anything else on that Mac while backing up.

I suspect that I've gotta reinstall 10.5.8 on the boot drive and restore my stuff using Migration Assistant, but though I have two backups, I am not sure they will work when needed.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-03-2010, 04:26 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
This almost sounds like the backup drive is freezing up, actually. You can certainly stop SD!, but I'm *guessing* it may pinwheel. Give it a try.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2010, 05:46 AM
ncmphoto ncmphoto is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 12
But which backup drive is freezing up? I've had issues with both (internal and external) as explained in my post and it seems unlikely - though not impossible - that both have problems at the same time.

Eventually I did get tired of the hours adding up (SD wasn't frozen, the gear shift kept going around and the clock moved) so I stopped the backup, and quit SD normally. I ran DU on the internal backup drive and it said it was OK. Next I'll try booting from it to see if that works.

I've been using SD for several years on several Macs and never had a problem before except getting caught briefly by that Virus Barrier bug some time ago.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-04-2010, 08:25 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If SD! isn't frozen (before you said the clock wasn't advancing), perhaps you're backing up with active applications/files?

It's also possible you have port/FireWire problems on one Mac.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-04-2010, 10:03 AM
ncmphoto ncmphoto is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
If SD! isn't frozen (before you said the clock wasn't advancing), perhaps you're backing up with active applications/files?

It's also possible you have port/FireWire problems on one Mac.
I suppose I could try a backup in Safe Mode. I usually do them by booting normally but holding down the Shift key when launching my account, so my personal login items are disabled (things like DragThing, Default Folder, etc. that usually launch automatically). I don't run any apps besides SD during backups, so unless some system process is active that shouldn't be a problem. Also, this is the way I've always done backups and they never failed before.

The FireWire port suggestion is valid. I'll try hooking that external drive to another FireWire port. Right now it's attached to a pci FireWire card in the G4MDD. But that wouldn't explain the failure to finish of the 2nd internal hd which is on the same bus as my main boot drive.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-04-2010, 10:08 AM
ncmphoto ncmphoto is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 12
Also you are right, I didn't explain SD's symptoms properly. It hadn't frozen, the gear was spinning and the clock working. But it never advanced - in one case (the external hd) it was stuck about 3/4 of the way through the backup. On the internal backup drive it had completed the backup, restored boot capability and prebinding but was stuck on the restore of Spotlight (with spinning gear and clock ticking), so it never finished and that section didn't turn green, if you know what I mean.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spotlight state not preserved cookieme General 3 11-23-2009 01:20 PM
Failed to restore spotlight state error bill from maine General 2 07-24-2008 01:54 PM
Spotlight Privacy tab refuses to recognize SuperDuper Smart Update -- 100% repeatable RFMoya General 4 09-22-2007 02:46 PM
Restore Spotlight state problem fredhoran General 1 09-10-2007 11:14 AM
Restore Spotlight State when Clone Fails GraphiteWindows General 1 08-30-2006 12:16 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.