Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2010, 07:58 PM
robwilkerson robwilkerson is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 14
Unable to unmount sparsebundle

I ran a new backup last night that created a sparsebundle on an external (USB) hard drive. Today, in the course of doing other things, I noticed that, although I couldn't see it on the desktop, the image was mounted. I can't see it anywhere except from the CLI when doing an `ls`.

I've tried to unmount it, to detach it, to force both operations and to throw sudo at them, but I can't get this volume to go away. The external drive that it actually resides on isn't even plugged in. If I _do_ plug it in and mount the content, it mounts as 'mbp17.mwf 1'. Clearly the system thinks something is mounted, but I can't find a way to unmount it.

I've rebooted several times and I've also removed some ACL bits that were set, but nothing seems to work. Is there anything else I can try?

Code:
rob@mbp17 [Volumes] $ ls
total 8
lrwxr-xr-x   1 root  admin     1B Jan 26 18:43 Macintosh HD -> /
drwxr-xr-x  11 root  admin   374B Jan 25 22:48 mbp17.mwf
rob@mbp17 [Volumes] $ sudo hdiutil unmount -force mbp17.mwf/
Password:
hdiutil: unmount: "mbp17.mwf/" failed to unmount due to error 49153.
hdiutil: unmount failed - Resource busy
rob@mbp17 [Volumes] $ sudo hdiutil detach -force mbp17.mwf/
hdiutil: detach failed - No such file or directory
Any thoughts, hints or suggestions would be much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-26-2010, 10:05 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Sounds to me like it's not a mount point. What happens if you restart your Macc and check /Volumes?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-27-2010, 08:13 AM
robwilkerson robwilkerson is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Sounds to me like it's not a mount point. What happens if you restart your Macc and check /Volumes?
I've restarted about 12 times (each after trying something new) and the volume (or directory) is always there. I was a little afraid to simply delete it, but perhaps that's worth a try.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-27-2010, 09:16 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If it looks like a folder in Finder (use Go To Folder to get there), delete it. It's a failed mount point converted to a folder.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2010, 07:48 PM
robwilkerson robwilkerson is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
If it looks like a folder in Finder (use Go To Folder to get there), delete it. It's a failed mount point converted to a folder.
Deleted the volume, nay folder, last night and have since run a backup. Looks like everything's in good shape. I'm a little embarrassed that I didn't just try it on my own, but thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a copy of a sparsebundle doesn't work? camner General 7 12-22-2009 10:30 PM
Unable to unmount primary OS drive when booted to external firewire drive backup. TelexStar General 9 06-30-2009 03:42 PM
Scheduled mount and unmount of disk image nkay General 3 10-18-2007 03:13 PM
Should SD! Automatically unmount image? labguy General 9 08-23-2007 10:21 AM
SD V2 not being able to save settings bammi General 1 12-01-2005 11:35 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.