Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2009, 07:46 AM
Lebensmuede Lebensmuede is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
"ER Boot" drives?

I'm faced with an unusual problem since upgrading to SL and I'm not sure whether it is an issue with SD or not. In any case, when I make a clone backup via SuperDuper to my external drive and then try to select it as the boot drive via the Option key at startup, I see two drives, the internal and the external, both with their user-defined icons but lacking their user-defined names and having the generic name "ER Boot" instead. I can boot from said external drive without any problems, but when I try to run DiskWarrior from my external drive I get an error message, presumably b/c DW does not recognize that there are really two different drives or some such.

Like I said, this was never an issue until upgrading to SL. Could it in some way be SD-related?

Thanks.

P.S. What in the world does "ER Boot" mean?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DiskWarrior Error.jpg (35.3 KB, 249 views)

Last edited by Lebensmuede; 11-12-2009 at 07:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2009, 08:58 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The message from Disk Warrior is very likely because Spotlight or an AntiVirus program is still accessing files on the backup drive.

Do the proper drive names show up in the startup disk preference pane?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-13-2009, 03:45 AM
Lebensmuede Lebensmuede is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
The message from Disk Warrior is very likely because Spotlight or an AntiVirus program is still accessing files on the backup drive.
If this is the case, how do I stop the main drive from doing this? Never happened under previous versions of Mac OS X.

Quote:
Do the proper drive names show up in the startup disk preference pane?
Yes, they do.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-13-2009, 08:49 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, I'd add the drive to the Spotlight Preference Pane's "Privacy" tab, and add it to any AntiVirus program's "Safe/Don't Scan" list.

Not sure why the BIOS isn't showing the drive name properly, though...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Archiving old hard drives themarkus General 2 11-09-2009 12:44 PM
Swapping Multiple Off-Site External Drives DebNCgal General 4 07-17-2009 05:39 PM
Cycling two backup drives with 2 partitions nkay General 1 01-12-2009 08:55 AM
Raid 1 versus two drives with SuperDuper? peterm1 General 9 08-27-2008 05:29 PM
One more question regarding mounting drives rock15478 General 7 05-12-2008 10:49 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.