Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2009, 08:26 PM
twinkle twinkle is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
why do some Desktop Items not copy to SD?

Hi there:

I am relatively new to this, but I have noticed that whenever I back up (once a week) many of my documents that reside on my desktop do not copy to the DS Drive.

It is odd in that some docs or files or items do copy and others (I have many docs and PDfs, etc) do not.

Is there a reason for this even though I have "backup all files" checked?

Do I have to put all my desktop items into a folder on my Mac HD so SD can find them?

Please let me know if I'm doing something wrong!

Thanks!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2009, 08:32 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I think you're probably looking in the wrong place. Your Desktop is in /Users/your-account/Desktop, on your backup drive...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-19-2009, 08:50 PM
twinkle twinkle is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Thanks Dave:

But that is exactly where I'm looking! LOL!

I can see the files in my HD under:

Macintosh HD
Users
Me
Desktop

They are all there (27 items)

But if I do the same look at:

SuperDuper BackupHD
Users
Me
Desktop

there are only 17 items - all the ones that are missing are PDFs.

I can e-mail you screen shots if you like...

Thanks for any help!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-19-2009, 10:40 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I have no idea why SuperDuper! would skip files: it's certainly not something we've ever seen, unless explicitly requested. Are you sure Finder hasn't refreshed incorrectly? If you start up from the backup, are the files there?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-20-2009, 02:08 PM
twinkle twinkle is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Maybe I'm just not understanding how to look into a back up HD correctly.

I have an icon on my desktop labeled "SuperDuper backup HD" - which is where I direct SD to copy & back-up my files to from my regular HD.

I was assuming that I could double click on this icon and see what its contents are or also just choose it in the left panel of the apple find screen (where it appears under my regular HD as an ejectable entity and appears above the basic contents in that left hand list esktop, me, applications, documents, movies, music, pictures)

I have never booted up from the SD drive (I haven't had to thankfully) - but are you saying this is the way I'd see all its contents?

I was thinking that after I do a back-up, I could just double click the SDHD icon and see its contents and see if the items under "Users, me, desktop" were copied over...

Please let me know if this if not the case. - or if I have to shut down and restart or something each time to see the new items?

Many thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-20-2009, 02:52 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,358
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes, that's all true. Are you perhaps using FileVault?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Booting from backup guruuno General 27 10-17-2009 12:53 AM
Failed to copy error lmatheo General 1 03-20-2009 09:27 AM
Hard drive size doubled after backup.... sanketr General 7 08-02-2008 01:16 PM
SD! & HDD copy speed fun DaleMeyn General 3 03-20-2006 05:24 PM
Error: No space left on device tradervic General 11 06-29-2005 05:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.