Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-24-2009, 06:10 PM
allenbirnbach allenbirnbach is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Copying from one machine to another

Can my licensed version of Super Duper be used on more than one machine? I have two desktop towers, and I've put my registered copy on my newer Mac G5.

The reason why I am asking is that I want to copy everything from an older G4 to the G5. Basic reason being that the G4 is older and slower, and I plan to decommission it. The G5 does have data on it, which I do not want to replace. I just want to add the files from the G4. If I connect the two machines with a firewire cord, and install Super Duper on the G4, would it see the G5 so I could copy over the files? Are there any special protocols to keep in mind in making the transfer?

Last edited by allenbirnbach; 08-24-2009 at 06:16 PM. Reason: mistake
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-24-2009, 06:13 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, obviously, you have, Allen, because you're posting here.

See my emailed response.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-24-2009, 06:18 PM
allenbirnbach allenbirnbach is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
:-). Corrected.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-24-2009, 06:28 PM
allenbirnbach allenbirnbach is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
See my emailed response.[/QUOTE]

I might be having a problem with a slow server, but I have not seen an email response. Maybe it's best to repost it here? Thanks so much!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-24-2009, 06:32 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, I sent it over a half hour ago. Here's what I said:

In general, if the computers are yours, used primarily by you, we don't require you to purchase multiple licenses. Of course, we appreciate it when people do, since it's modestly priced and registrations are how we pay for support, development, food, things like that.

It's not a "family" license, though.

Hope that makes some sense.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-24-2009, 07:41 PM
allenbirnbach allenbirnbach is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post

Hope that makes some sense.
Thanks. So now back to what I'm trying to do. If I connect the two machines with a firewire cord, and install Super Duper on the G4, would it see the G5 so I could copy over the files? Are there any special protocols to keep in mind in making the transfer?

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-24-2009, 10:27 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If you put the destination Mac into "FireWire Target Disk Mode" (hold down T during startup), yes. Nothing terribly special.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Needed: Time Machine and SuperDuper guidance kapalama General 7 08-13-2009 08:55 AM
Problem copying time machine backup rich General 11 02-27-2009 02:55 PM
How do I copy a Time Machine volume? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 02-07-2008 07:34 PM
A different angle on SD & Time Machine integration badlydrawnboy General 10 10-26-2007 09:37 PM
write problems after cloning machine mkrueger General 13 12-31-2004 08:17 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.