Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-18-2009, 07:13 PM
braddman braddman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
CCC failed, will SuperDuper be able to copy USB---->SATA300 then boot it?

So I tried copying my bootable USB external drive to a brand new SATA 300 drive. I partitioned it with 2 partitions, the first one MAC Journaled, the second one MSDOS. I used CCC to clone the USB disk to the Mac journaled partition.

It said the copy completed sucessfully, however when I reboot the machine, all I get is a blinking cursor upper left hand corner.

Will superduper be able to copy this successfully and boot off of the copy?

Do I have to do anything special when I'm preparing the target disk besides format it Mac Journaled?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-18-2009, 07:15 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I'm assuming this is an Intel Mac. You'll have to make sure you partition it as GUID -- use the partition tab of Disk Utility, set the number of partitions and click Options, then select GUID as the partition type. Repartition, then copy -- it should work.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-18-2009, 07:28 PM
braddman braddman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
I'm assuming this is an Intel Mac. You'll have to make sure you partition it as GUID -- use the partition tab of Disk Utility, set the number of partitions and click Options, then select GUID as the partition type. Repartition, then copy -- it should work.

This is an intel mac, (hackintosh). I didn't even see that option, but doesn't it default to that option when it erases and partitions? I definitely didn't change
it from the default whatever that is.

This is 10.5.6 by the way.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-18-2009, 07:33 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If this is a hackintosh, I really can't promise it's going to be bootable. As I recall, hackintoshes require a boot sector to be written, and I really don't know what partition scheme they require...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Booting from backup guruuno General 27 10-17-2009 12:53 AM
Failed to copy szygi General 3 05-08-2009 08:11 AM
Failed to copy error lmatheo General 1 03-20-2009 09:27 AM
Error: No space left on device tradervic General 11 06-29-2005 05:50 PM
I can't boot from my SuperDuper! copy. Why? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 06-18-2005 10:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.