Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2005, 10:58 PM
boblaker boblaker is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
superduper vs. mac backup

Dave--

Greetings from South Carolina.

You are all over the place--have been reading lots about SuperDuper recently and I am very interested.

Backups and cloning are confusing to me.

Currently I backup my iMac to an external HD using the mac backup utility (and back up my powerbook to a separate OWC external HD using same).

My questions are:

1) does superduper take the place of backup?
2) or is it something that I could (should) use in addition to backup (to provide a bootable copy)
3) If the latter do I need to partition the external drives (I'm not a techie so don't know how to do this).

Many thanks

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-21-2005, 11:32 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Hi, Scott. Glad you're reading about us!

Let me try to answer your questions.

The .mac/Apple backup utility backs up your personal files, but doesn't make a bootable backup. Instead, it makes a "classic" historical backup, with incremental additions. That's pretty good if you feel you're going to need to roll back over and over, but in the event of a disaster, it's really hard to recover.

SuperDuper! make (and updates) a fully bootable backup. This doesn't have to replace your user of Apple Backup, but it makes an excellent supplement, and may indeed be everything you need.

What I'd do is use Disk Utility to partition the drives into a "Backup" partition and a "data" partition that you can use for whatever else. (This is really easy to do: just run Disk Utility, select the drive, and choose the "partition" tab. The rest is pretty self-explanatory.)

The "Backup" partition should be large enough to hold the internal drive (or, at least, as large as you expect to take up). Do this for each drive.

Then, you're just going to use SuperDuper! to back up the appropriate machine to the appropriate partition. The first time, you can do this with Erase, then copy; subsequent executions should be with "Smart Update". I think you'll be very pleased with how fast it works!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-22-2005, 07:17 AM
boblaker boblaker is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
thanks

Thanks!

I'll be buying today!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-22-2005, 10:12 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Great! Thanks for your support!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-26-2007, 10:10 PM
rollytan rollytan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
i'm currently researching backup programs that will backup mac to offsite server. only one so far is www.disksave.com

not sure of ibackup having on yet or not. anyone know of some others?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-03-2007, 12:59 AM
pwg pwg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
Wishlist - backup as well as clone

What I'd really like is to have 2 partitions on my reserve drive:
1. Clone maintained by e.g. smartupdate daily.
2. Backup partition - whenever smartupdate either updates or deletes a file, the previous version is copied to this partition, with a version number. If this could then keep say the previous 3 versions, I'd have a great recovery tool for mistakes as well as disasters!

Any chance?

thanks,

Peter.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-03-2007, 08:59 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
There's always a chance, Peter. But given that Time Machine is going to focus on that "temporal rollback" use case, a combination of it and us will likely be exactly what you're looking for...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-04-2007, 07:08 PM
MMM MMM is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 98
Lightbulb

Don't forget that if youíre using FileVault, you should create a non-FileVault account for use with SuperDuper!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SuperDuper Backup of AES 128 Encrypted Disk Image rwg4 General 3 11-30-2005 11:28 AM
Superduper fails to backup since tiger jeroenimo General 1 05-17-2005 10:35 AM
PowerMac G5 won't recognize SuperDuper Backup on External FW Drive BobbyMiller General 7 05-12-2005 12:53 PM
Smart Backup Error bill s General 20 02-04-2005 10:46 AM
Security of SuperDuper Backup Data? Zeigh General 1 08-08-2004 01:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.