Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-21-2008, 04:18 PM
Sigi Sigi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Munich
Posts: 42
SD + Drobo

Hello,

I run an Apple Imac with 500 GB on Tiger + an external firewire hard drive with 160 GB for back up - which is now completely full. I just bought a Drobo and I am in the process of downloading SD. As I am not really a computer expert I have some questions. I would like to:

1. use the Drobo for backing up all my data, should not be a problem I guess
2. use the 160 GB drive as a bootable backup

Now my questions:

1. Should I partition my internal harddrive and whats the best way to do that
2. In case I partition should I just have my OS on partition one or OS + apps
3. I understood that SD can help to make a bootable backup - correct?

Thanks for any help and advice.

Sigi

Last edited by Sigi; 08-21-2008 at 04:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-21-2008, 04:56 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I don't see how you're going to use the 160GB drive for a backup if it's completely full: you'd be copying your source (500GB) drive to it, right?

And, no -- no need to partition the internal drive.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-21-2008, 05:16 PM
Sigi Sigi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Munich
Posts: 42
Hello Dave,

sorry the the confusion. I will backup all my pictures, music etc.. to the Drobo (2 x 750 GB)
In addition to that I want to make a bootable backup of my 160 GB drive (I checked that it actually can be used to boot OS X). I assume that I only need the OS on this drive hence my questions above

Sigi
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-21-2008, 05:19 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I'm sorry, I'm still confused. What is the 160GB drive? I thought it was a backup. Is this an internal drive?

Is your 500GB completely full, and you're planning on moving that data to the Drobo? Or are you trying to back up the data on the 500GB to the Drobo?

How many partitions do you have on the source -- in other words, how many 'volumes' are you actually trying to back up here?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-21-2008, 05:26 PM
Sigi Sigi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Munich
Posts: 42
Hello Dave,

1. My internal 500 GB drive is not partitioned, it has only one volume
2. The internal drive has still lots of space
3. I have used the external 160 GB drive for backup of data files only (pictures, music and documents) as I have now about 190 GB of pictures etc... I needed to upgrade. I bought a Drobo with 2x750 GB drives.
4. Support from Drobo told me that Drobos are not a good idea for a bootable backup so I thought that I use my 160 GB drive exclusivly for that.
4. I do not have have backup for OS or apps right now - which I want to change

Sigi
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-21-2008, 05:31 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,354
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Did they indicate why they thought the Drobo wasn't a good idea for bootable backups? It should work fine (and they've even communicated with me about it)...

It's really not a good idea to separate the backups the way you're thinking of doing it. I mean, you can back up everything but the pictures, music and documents to the 160, but I'd get a 500GB to back up to, and use the Drobo for 'archived' pictures, etc.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using SuperDuper for an offsite Time Machine backup toy General 1 07-26-2008 01:02 PM
SuperDuper and a Drobo? dubwise General 1 07-24-2008 12:38 PM
SuperDuper! + Drobo? ignite General 3 12-10-2007 07:04 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.